![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Until the held ball is whistled, Team A can request a timeout. Actually, both can't. Team A has team control. Team control doesn't end until the ball is dead, there's a shot or Team B gains player/team control. In this play, there's never player/team control by Team B Quote:
Team A has player/team control and can request a timeout prior to a held ball being declared.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Are you sure about that? Isn't the underlying point of a held ball that team A and team B both have control? The player from team B IS holding the ball....which fits the requirements for establishing team control...yet team A hasn't lost control since they're still holding it. If that were not the case, we'd never have a held ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A held ball is called, in a sense, because both teams have control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
---- Quote: Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post 4-25-1 A held ball occurs when opponents have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness No control, no TO. The rule is addressing control of the ball, not team or player control. Team A has player/team control and can request a timeout prior to a held ball being declared. ---- So team a has team and player control BUT B does not.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
|
Quote:
(Now that I've thought about this a bit more, I'm going to flip on my reasoning but the result is the same.) I believe neither player has control. Perhaps team control doesn't end (this doesn't really matter), but player control does end. The rule you cited doesn't refer to which team/player is which in referring to not being able to obtain control but refers to them as opponents. It is saying that NEITHER player has control when both are holding the ball. It establishes the concept that player control exists only when a player is holding the ball alone. If you think about it, the whole point of player control is that the player is in control of the ball and is free to do what they wish with the ball (dribble, shoot, pass). And that is something they can not do if someone else is also holding it. Once B gets their hands on the ball, player A (not necessarily team A) has lost player control and the option of a timeout is gone. The only things that can happen next is that someone gains player control by pulling the ball free or a held ball is called.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Tue Dec 28, 2010 at 05:14am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If it's held ball, then there should be a whistle. If there's not a whistle, then there's no held ball and Team A still has team control. You can't deny them a timeout.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out | CMHCoachNRef | Basketball | 10 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm |
| Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster | SoInZebra | Basketball | 122 | Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm |
| time expired/time outs | cloverdale | Basketball | 14 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am |
| Another long time listener, first time caller | Fifth And Goal | Basketball | 11 | Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am |
| When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? | Deion | Softball | 1 | Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am |