The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 12:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyinTN View Post
OK, another question related to this.

Suppose the given scenario does indeed occur and you have a double whistle. The L is calling a jump ball and the T is calling for a time out by Team B. Do you then grant the TO and put the ball in play by AP rules (would be my thought) or.......?

Robby
get together, figure out which happened first. If the TO happened first, offense keeps it. If the held ball (not the whistle, but the held ball) happened before the TO (request, not whistle), then go AP. You can assume the requesting coach doesn't want the TO, but I ask him anyway.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 01:17pm
Back from the DL
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 2,540
Maybe this is putting the cart before the horse, but here's a thought...

The only time we honor a time-out request from the team who would not be in-bounding the ball after that time out, is when the ball is dead.

On a potential held ball situation (A1 and B2 gripping the ball simultaneously), the ball is not dead. If you honor the time-out request on a live ball, you're saying that team has player control (one exception notwithstanding). So, if you honor a time-out request from either side during a tie-up, you're saying that both players have player control, and the team that calls time out first would get the in-bounds after the time-out.

For this reason, I agree with BBR. I don't believe you can give Team B an opportunity to call time-out until they earn control, solely. (Is there such a thing as dual control?) I don't think you can honor team A's request during a tie-up, either. My knee-jerk reaction is to ignore any requests, and call the held ball.

(The aforementioned exception is when you mistakenly whistle a time-out when that team didn't have player control. In that case, you have to grant it, anyway.)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Also, the rule referred to above does not address player control. The rule refers to physically controlling the ball, not team or player control.
This is where I disagree. I think the rule IS talking about player control....that it is lost when another player also has their hands on the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 03:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
So since there is only 1 ball only 1 team can have PC/TC.
So when B1 grabs the ball can one correctly argue that the ball is no longer in play and as such is really a dead ball ie free for any team to get control off? (and if they can't a jump ball etc etc)

If this thinking is correct (idea based on discussion above) no coach should be able to ask for a TO.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 03:12pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBest View Post
So since there is only 1 ball only 1 team can have PC/TC.
So when B1 grabs the ball can one correctly argue that the ball is no longer in play and as such is really a dead ball ie free for any team to get control off? (and if they can't a jump ball etc etc)

If this thinking is correct (idea based on discussion above) no coach should be able to ask for a TO.
Do you even know what a dead ball is?
Your thinking is not correct.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5
I hit the enter key after using the words "dead ball". Thanks for correcting me
So if no PC or TC the ball is in play and belongs to no one. Thus NO TO can be called. What is wrong with that?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 03:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBest View Post
I hit the enter key after using the words "dead ball". Thanks for correcting me
So if no PC or TC the ball is in play and belongs to no one. Thus NO TO can be called. What is wrong with that?
There is team control still, as nothing has happened to end it. The only time you'll have a live ball on the court with no team control is during and following either a try or a throw in.

If a coach requests a TO during the time I'm trying to decide if I should call a held ball, it's still a held ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If the TO happened first, offense keeps it. If the held ball (not the whistle, but the held ball) happened before the TO (request, not whistle), then go AP.
IMO...Snaq's put it in a nutshell.

I just can't see rules support for granting a TO when two players BOTH have possesion of the ball...(as Camron stated)

IOW...are we "rewarding" the team in control for requesting a TO before we put air in the whistle for a held ball? (BBR's view?)
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 07:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The only time you'll have a live ball on the court with no team control is during and following either a try or a throw in.
Quibble: I think you forgot one.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 07:50pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Quibble: I think you forgot one.
Easy to do since the advent of the AP.
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 08:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Quibble: I think you forgot one.
Yep, and I hereby sentence myself to penance.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 09:22pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Yep, and I hereby sentence myself to penance.
50 tosses at the center circle for you.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
This is where I disagree. I think the rule IS talking about player control....that it is lost when another player also has their hands on the ball.
I honestly don't know how you can think that when the rule clearly says "have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness." Seems to me it's obviously talking about control of the ball.

But if you think so, then please cite the rule that says so. I've looked at 4-12 until I'm blue in the face and I can't find a thing that supports that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
IMO...Snaq's put it in a nutshell.

I just can't see rules support for granting a TO when two players BOTH have possesion of the ball...(as Camron stated)
If both players are holding the ball, then we have a held ball and we need to blow the whistle.

Quote:
IOW...are we "rewarding" the team in control for requesting a TO before we put air in the whistle for a held ball? (BBR's view?)
We're not rewarding anything. We're awarding a timeout to the team that has possession of the ball. Coaches call timeouts to avoid a held ball, clodely guarded sitch, BC violation, etc. all the time. This is no different.

Play:

A1 has the ball and B1 attempts to grab it. Obviously, there's going to be a held ball. The trail blows the whistle as Coach A has requested a timeout. A second later, the lead blows his whistle for a held ball.

Are you guys honestly going to tell me that you're going to ignore the first whistle and go with the second whistle?

I have a difficult time believing anyone would answer yes to that question.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Tue Dec 28, 2010 at 11:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
I honestly don't know how you can think that when the rule clearly says "have their hands so firmly on the ball that control cannot be obtained without undue roughness." Seems to me it's obviously talking about control of the ball.

But if you think so, then please cite the rule that says so. I've looked at 4-12 until I'm blue in the face and I can't find a thing that supports that.



If both players are holding the ball, then we have a held ball and we need to blow the whistle.

{quote]IOW...are we "rewarding" the team in control for requesting a TO before we put air in the whistle for a held ball? (BBR's view?)
No, we're awarding a timeout to the team that has possession of the ball.

Play:

A1 has the ball and B1 attempts to grab it. Obviously, there's going to be a held ball. The trail blows the whistle as Coach A has requested a timeout. A second later, the lead blows his whistle for a held ball.

Are you guys honestly going to tell me that you're going to ignore the first whistle and go with the second whistle?

I have a difficult time believing anyone would answer yes to that question.[/QUOTE]

+1
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 28, 2010, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
There is team control still, as nothing has happened to end it. The only time you'll have a live ball on the court with no team control is during and following either a try or a throw in.
Agreed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If a coach requests a TO during the time I'm trying to decide if I should call a held ball, it's still a held ball.
Why? If you haven't called a held ball, it's by default, still PC/TC of the person who had it. To me, this is simple. Grant TO for original team in control up until the point you deem it a held ball. If you deem it a held ball prior to hearing the TO request, then call the held ball. That's the 2 choices here. Either it was a held ball before the TO request (held ball) or the TO was prior to the held ball (grant TO).
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting Time on the Clock for Requested Time Out CMHCoachNRef Basketball 10 Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:20pm
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster SoInZebra Basketball 122 Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm
time expired/time outs cloverdale Basketball 14 Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1