The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 11:35am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I think I can answer my own question. Like you guys, I've been thinking that the issue of whether to assess a team T or a player T turns on whether we can identify the guilty party.
But now I think that's wrong. 10-2 concerns substitutes, and we can assess an individual T on illegal subs when they are still subs.

A "sub" who runs onto the court during a live ball instantly becomes a player according to 4-34-3. So the reason it's "too late" to hit A1 with an illegal sub T in 10.2.1A (b) is that A1 is no longer a sub once the ball is live.

That's why the live/dead ball issue is relevant: it determines whether or not you're dealing with a substitute or a player. If it's a sub, we use 10-2. If it's a player, you have to go with 10-1-6, not because you don't know who's an illegal sub, but because there are no subs, and you have 6 players.

Sound right?

I think you were right before.

What if A1 saves the ball from going OOB and lands on his bench? At that point, A6 runs in and replaces him. Ball is live the whole time.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
10.2.1.A does not deal with a substitute who enters the game while the ball is live. It clearly addresses two variations on a sub entering during a dead ball.

For a sub who enters during a live ball, you need to look at 10.2.2.

10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

The fact that it is case 10.2.2 tells us it is a Substitute Technical for a sub entering the court without being beckoned. If it were meant to be a Team Technical for B participating with six players, it would be case 10.1.6.Something-or-other.

Also, please don't let the live ball thing throw you. There is a very significant difference, significant rules-wise and significant in "real life" between a ball that is live and a ball that becomes live. Both 10.2.1.A and 3-3-3, which contributes to 10.2.1.A, talk about the ball becoming live. That is a change of status, from dead to live. There is no change of status from live to "still live". Thus any discussion of the illegal sub becoming a player once the ball becomes live requires that the ball first become dead. Which is the basis behind 10.2.2's ruling.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
10.2.1.A does not deal with a substitute who enters the game while the ball is live. It clearly addresses two variations on a sub entering during a dead ball.

For a sub who enters during a live ball, you need to look at 10.2.2.

10.2.2 SITUATION: During a live ball and with the clock running, substitute A6 enters the court. RULING: A technical foul is charged if recognized by an official before the ball becomes live following the first dead ball.

The fact that it is case 10.2.2 tells us it is a Substitute Technical for a sub entering the court without being beckoned. If it were meant to be a Team Technical for B participating with six players, it would be case 10.1.6.Something-or-other.

Also, please don't let the live ball thing throw you. There is a very significant difference, significant rules-wise and significant in "real life" between a ball that is live and a ball that becomes live. Both 10.2.1.A and 3-3-3, which contributes to 10.2.1.A, talk about the ball becoming live. That is a change of status, from dead to live. There is no change of status from live to "still live". Thus any discussion of the illegal sub becoming a player once the ball becomes live requires that the ball first become dead. Which is the basis behind 10.2.2's ruling.
I agree with this & what J.R.said earlier.

Had something very similar happen last week in a BJV game. A1 on the line shooting first half of a 1+1. Just as he released his attempt, B6 runs from his bench past the table & onto the court without being beckoned. The FT was not successful and we blew the ball dead. We charged B6 with the T, A2 made the resulting two FT attempts, then we gave ball to A for inbound at the division line.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 03:46pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
I had a situation similar to this one. We kicked it around.

What's the call?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 04:21pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I had a situation similar to this one. We kicked it around.

What's the call?
Blarge?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 05:26pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Blarge?

ROFLMAO!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2010, 07:12pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Blarge?
A blarge is not similar to anything.

It is actually a mythical thing which doesn't exist, except in Dexter land, maybe.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New ABA Team in Quebec - Team Name canuckrefguy Basketball 17 Tue Aug 15, 2006 11:29am
NCAA team vs. Fed team Texas Aggie Football 3 Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:51am
That one team.. cowbyfan1 Baseball 19 Thu Jul 14, 2005 08:10pm
2 Technicals on Team A... How many shots for Team B? bradfordwilkins Basketball 8 Sun Feb 13, 2005 10:29am
LL - Which team is which? mick Baseball 14 Mon Jul 08, 2002 11:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1