The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 24, 2010, 03:10am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
No, I agree with all of that, now knowing that the rule protects only the first to tip. A2 catching a tipped ball is NOT protected and hence a backcourt violation occurs. If the ball tips from his hand (first to touch), that is not considered control, and he is protected into the backcourt without a violation. Again, I am learning this application, but that is the way I read the casebook and rule book.
Right result, wrong reason.

When A2 leaps and catches the ball, he has established player and team control. If he jumped from the FC, then he has established FC location along with team control. The exception does not say control isn't established, it just says he can land in the BC. It's an exception, but control is still established.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partner and backcourt call. hbioteach Basketball 4 Thu May 10, 2007 03:09pm
Did my partner make the right call? Illinois blue Softball 4 Fri Apr 29, 2005 11:07pm
BackCourt Mistake by Partner (What would you do?) hbioteach Basketball 14 Sat Feb 19, 2005 01:44am
Great call, partner Nevadaref Basketball 48 Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:29am
partner making call refjef40 Softball 3 Mon Apr 24, 2000 05:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1