The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Technical foul situation

Between the first and second quarter, A1 has a disagreement with his coach, removes his jersey in the bench area, tosses the jersey to his coach, leaves the bench area and goes to the locker room which is across the floor from the bench. The officials called a technical foul on the player for removing his jersey and also a direct technical on the coach for allowing a team member to leave the bench area for an unauthorized reason to demonstrate resentment or disgust (Rule 10-5-5) The second quarter started with four technical free throws and a division line throw-in for Team B. Were the officials correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
The player definitely receives a T for removing the jersey.

10-3-6i states the player receives a T for leaving.

10-5-5 states that the coach receives one, too.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 06:43pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Yes.
10-3-6h
10-5-5

Although I probably wouldn't have called the T for the player leaving the bench area.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,614
By rule, I think so.

If the official knows the facts as presented in the question, iI'd try to only have one T (once A1 gives his jersey to the coach, he's no longer a team member.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
SNIP...once A1 gives his jersey to the coach, he's no longer a team member.
Really??
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 07:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
By rule, I think so.

If the official knows the facts as presented in the question, iI'd try to only have one T (once A1 gives his jersey to the coach, he's no longer a team member.)
Agree. Short of tackling the player, I don't see what else the coach could have done.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 07:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Give the player a "T" under R10-3-6(h).

The new rule (10-5-5) says that the head coach can't let team members leave the bench area for an unauthorized reason. Sooooo....authorize it.

In the COMMENTS ON THE 2010-11 RULES REVISIONS for 10-5-5, it also says team members are required to remain on the court or in the bench area while the game is in progress until each quarter or extra period has officially ended. This happened after the end of a quarter, didn't it?

Don't be a plumber.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 08:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
By rule, I think so.

If the official knows the facts as presented in the question, iI'd try to only have one T (once A1 gives his jersey to the coach, he's no longer a team member.)
Why is he no longer a team member?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 255
I would not have given two Ts for the same incident. Maybe I am wrong in not doing so but I guess I would have missed it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobbyinTN View Post
I would not have given two Ts for the same incident. Maybe I am wrong in not doing so but I guess I would have missed it.
It's definitely two T's. The question is should there be a third T?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2010, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Why is he no longer a team member?
What is the definition of team member?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 01:30am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
What is the definition of team member?

Without looking, it's bench personnel in uniform eligible to become a player.
This guy had fouled out, he was already not eligible, so why did handing the jersey to the coach make him no longer a team member?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 01:46am
ODJ ODJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 390
Kid gets pissed at his coach, tosses jersey at him, and leaves.

I doubt I'd T anything. He's not playing again for that coach. Let him walk off and get the quarter started. Why punish the team.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 02:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODJ View Post
Kid gets pissed at his coach, tosses jersey at him, and leaves.

I doubt I'd T anything. He's not playing again for that coach. Let him walk off and get the quarter started. Why punish the team.
Are you kidding?? This one's automatic. I'd probably just hit him with one and be done with it. And I'd bet my bottom dollar the kid is back playing next game.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 20, 2010, 05:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Without looking, it's bench personnel in uniform eligible to become a player.
This guy had fouled out, he was already not eligible, so why did handing the jersey to the coach make him no longer a team member?
While it does say that, I think that it does so without considering DQ's. Someone who is DQ'd is still a team member....even though they can no longer play.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technical situation sj Basketball 4 Sun Dec 21, 2008 03:14pm
Double technical situation. Jerry Blum Basketball 4 Fri Feb 10, 2006 09:25am
technical foul situation????? robinson31ir Basketball 6 Fri Feb 18, 2005 10:03pm
Technical situation - no pun intended :) OPTIPLEX2001 Basketball 9 Tue Jan 23, 2001 03:52pm
Technical Situation Tom Cook Basketball 21 Wed Apr 26, 2000 04:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1