The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
I was asking about the Administrative T as the name had to be added to both scorebooks although it was initially supplied.

Since the name/number was added after the officials checked the rosters in both books, it would be considered an Administrative T.

"Administrative:
Providing rosters; starters; numbers; changes,
additions, etc.; team not ready to start half, TV
monitor, electronic communication; not
occupying assigned bench; more than five
players; excess time-out; violation after team
warning for delay; all players not returning at
same time after time-out or intermission (10-1)"

Just trying to figure out how it would not be considered as such since having to add the player, even though the roster was supplied.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
It's not a technical because the official book failed to correctly copy the properly supplied roster. We're not going to penalize a team because the book failed to copy the supplied roster. If we did this, every game would start with a technical because the book "forgot" to copy a number from the visiting team.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:51am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
I was asking about the Administrative T as the name had to be added to both scorebooks although it was initially supplied.

Since the name/number was added after the officials checked the rosters in both books, it would be considered an Administrative T.

"Administrative:
Providing rosters; starters; numbers; changes,
additions, etc.; team not ready to start half, TV
monitor, electronic communication; not
occupying assigned bench; more than five
players; excess time-out; violation after team
warning for delay; all players not returning at
same time after time-out or intermission (10-1)"

Just trying to figure out how it would not be considered as such since having to add the player, even though the roster was supplied.
Like was said earlier, this was a book keeping error. All a team is required to do is provide a proper roster by the 10 minute mark. If this is done, then the team has fulfilled its requirement. If we went by how you think the rule is administered, literally every game would start with a technical foul against the visitors or at some point a number would have to be added because the home team "forgot" to add the number.

Now if the book properly copied all the names and numbers from the supplied roster, and THEN there had to be an addition after the 10 minute mark, there would would have an administrative technical foul.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 02:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Question

Generally, rosters are copied from one scorebook to another not from a roster supplied by the coach, except for that team's roster either from the coach's memory or a previous game.

As I understood the rules, the rosters are to be in the scorebook(s) by the ten minute mark in order to be supplied, not just a paper lying next to the scorebook for the scorer to copy from.

Just trying to get clarification, as I have seen it called as an administrative T before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Like was said earlier, this was a book keeping error. All a team is required to do is provide a proper roster by the 10 minute mark. If this is done, then the team has fulfilled its requirement. If we went by how you think the rule is administered, literally every game would start with a technical foul against the visitors or at some point a number would have to be added because the home team "forgot" to add the number.

Now if the book properly copied all the names and numbers from the supplied roster, and THEN there had to be an addition after the 10 minute mark, there would would have an administrative technical foul.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 02:18am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Generally, rosters are copied from one scorebook to another not from a roster supplied by the coach, except for that team's roster either from the coach's memory or a previous game.

As I understood the rules, the rosters are to be in the scorebook(s) by the ten minute mark in order to be supplied, not just a paper lying next to the scorebook for the scorer to copy from.

Just trying to get clarification, as I have seen it called as an administrative T before.
You've seen a T called when the coach has supplied the list, but the scorer has not yet copied it at the 10 minute mark?

Seriously, he's putting us on.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 02:25am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Eagle...You have a gross misunderstanding of this rule. That is all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 02:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Due to the fact that the roster (player was not listed, though a printed roster was presented with the player listed) was not listed in the official scorebook, as it was on the printed roster, yes it was called.

Concerning the adding of the player into the scorebook, the R (at about 10 minute mark pregame), comes to table & verifies that the number of players warming up for each team match that which is in the scorebook (in the OP somehow V13 was either not counted or not within the visible confines of the court) so there was one more player in uniform than what the scorebook showed. At the time the count was done it should of been noticed about V13 missing from the scorebook, it was not. Since V13 had to be added to the scorebook when coming in to substitute according to the rules it is an administrative T.

10.1.2 SITUATION: (a) Three minutes prior to the start of the game; or (b) during a time-out in the second quarter of play, the Team B coach requests the scorer to add a name to the team list or change a team member’s number in the scorebook.
When is the penalty invoked for this administrative infraction?
RULING: The infraction occurs when the scorer is advised to add to or change the scorebook. The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball has become live, it is too late to penalize.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
You've seen a T called when the coach has supplied the list, but the scorer has not yet copied it at the 10 minute mark?

Seriously, he's putting us on.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson

Last edited by chseagle; Sat Dec 11, 2010 at 02:47am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 02:48am
I miss being on the floor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 917
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Due to the fact that the roster was not listed in the official scorebook, yes it was called.

Concerning the adding of the player into the scorebook, the R (at about 10 minute mark pregame), comes to table & verifies that the number of players warming up for each team match that which is in the scorebook (in the OP somehow V13 was either not counted or not within the visible confines of the court) so there was one more player in uniform than what the scorebook showed. At the time the count was done it should of been noticed about V13 missing from the scorebook, it was not. Since V13 had to be added to the scorebook when coming in to substitute according to the rules it is an administrative T.

10.1.2 SITUATION: (a) Three minutes prior to the start of the game; or (b) during a time-out in the second quarter of play, the Team B coach requests the scorer to add a name to the team list or change a team member’s number in the scorebook.
When is the penalty invoked for this administrative infraction?
RULING: The infraction occurs when the scorer is advised to add to or change the scorebook. The foul must be charged when it occurs and enforced when the ball next becomes live. Once the ball has become live, it is too late to penalize.
These two situations are completely different. In the case play, the coach erred. In your situation, the scorer erred. One causes a technical foul, the other causes embarrassment.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 03:08pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
You've seen a T called when the coach has supplied the list, but the scorer has not yet copied it at the 10 minute mark?

Seriously, he's putting us on.
Many years ago at a HS varsity game, we were the visiting team and the home scorer for the varsity game was nowhere to be found as the pre-game clock slowly wound down. The referees told our coach that if our roster was not in the home book by the 10 minute mark, it was going to be T on us.
__________________
"Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
If no one was available to be home scorer, why did they not just make the visitor book the official scorer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
Many years ago at a HS varsity game, we were the visiting team and the home scorer for the varsity game was nowhere to be found as the pre-game clock slowly wound down. The referees told our coach that if our roster was not in the home book by the 10 minute mark, it was going to be T on us.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 12, 2010, 04:42pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
If no one was available to be home scorer, why did they not just make the visitor book the official scorer?
Because the same refs who would hold the coach responsible for that play are the ones who don't know you can appoint the V book as official. The fact is these guys didn't know the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 11:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Generally, rosters are copied from one scorebook to another not from a roster supplied by the coach, except for that team's roster either from the coach's memory or a previous game.

As I understood the rules, the rosters are to be in the scorebook(s) by the ten minute mark in order to be supplied, not just a paper lying next to the scorebook for the scorer to copy from.

Just trying to get clarification, as I have seen it called as an administrative T before.
And we've given you clarification. Your understanding is wrong.

The coach is required to supply the scorer with the name and number of each team member who may participate. (10-1-1)

The coach did that. The fact that both scorers failed to write #13's name in their books is a bookkeeping error. Therefore, the team is NOT penalized.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
I'm used to the fact that 10-1-1 means all names/numbers are listed in the scorebook, as that is what I am used to is all I was getting at.

It is that I was thinking the intent & purpose is different compared to what is the norm concerning what I have witnessed/experienced.

Unfortunately different people see the purpose & intent differently

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
And we've given you clarification. Your understanding is wrong.

The coach is required to supply the scorer with the name and number of each team member who may participate. (10-1-1)

The coach did that. The fact that both scorers failed to write #13's name in their books is a bookkeeping error. Therefore, the team is NOT penalized.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
It is that I was thinking the intent & purpose is different compared to what is the norm concerning what I have witnessed/experienced.
The intent and purpose is that the coach provide the scorer a team list prior to the 10 minute mark, not that the book be completed prior to the 10 minute mark.

Quote:
Unfortunately different people see the purpose & intent differently
Fortunately, it makes no difference what a timer sees as the intent and purpose of the rule. It is not any part of the timer's job to do or say anything.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 12:30pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post

Unfortunately different people see the purpose & intent differently
Fortunately the people that count...the officials responsible for administering the rules...know the correct purpose and intent of the rule they are administering. Unfortunately though, some clueless timers won't accept that fact. Also unfortunately, those same clueless timers can't get through their thick heads that they have NOTHING to do with officiating the game. It doesn't matter one bit if any timer sees the purpose and intent of a rule differently than an official. The bottom line is that you don't get a vote. And if you want a say, well, you'd better know your audience. A lot of officials will simply tell the AD to get 'em a timer that knows enough to just time. I'm one of them.

Iow stick to what you're supposed to do and let us do what we're supposed to do.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
I'm used to the fact that 10-1-1 means all names/numbers are listed in the scorebook, as that is what I am used to is all I was getting at.
Sigh.

It's not what we don't know that gets us in trouble, it's what we know for sure that just ain't so.

What you should have said about 4 posts ago was, "Thanks. I had a misconception on the rule, but now I understand."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chseagle video? fullor30 Basketball 12 Tue Mar 09, 2010 06:23pm
Hey chseagle Mark Padgett Basketball 21 Tue Jan 05, 2010 01:03am
Chuckle - tonight I'm the timer dsqrddgd909 Basketball 8 Sat Dec 19, 2009 07:16am
I had THAT play tonight (timer error) canuckrefguy Basketball 26 Thu Jun 09, 2005 03:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1