The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 12:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Exclamation I think chseagle was my timer tonight

GV Game, middle of the 2nd quarter, horn sounds. I go over and the scorers inform me that #13 is not in either book. I ask for the roster supplied by the visiting coach. There she is, #13 list on the roster. No technical, add her to both books, let's play.

Timer says no, it's a technical foul.

What?

No, it's not a technical foul. The coach supplied a roster with the player listed. This is a scorer's error. Now let's play.

I walk away. Next thing I hear is the timer yelling to the home coach and the fans behind the home bench that it's a technical foul but I don't know the rule and won't call it.

I walk back to the table ask quietly the timer. "Is there a problem?" "Yes, it's a technical foul." I explained it once more and told him that was the end of the discussion. As I walked away again, he yelled, "YES SIR!" at which time I turned and asked where I could find the principal or AD.

I explained the problem and asked him if he had another ECO. He said no but asked if he could talk to him and take care of the problem. He did and we had no further problem.

Some people just don't get it.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Kinda odd that the player was listed on the roster yet never was listed in either book.This sounds like a HTBT as I would of responded diffrently than that timer.

Question however, since the player was not listed in either book yet the V HC said the scorer was supplied the roster, how could that not be an Administrative T as the name/number have to be added?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
GV Game, middle of the 2nd quarter, horn sounds. I go over and the scorers inform me that #13 is not in either book. I ask for the roster supplied by the visiting coach. There she is, #13 list on the roster. No technical, add her to both books, let's play.

Timer says no, it's a technical foul.

What?

No, it's not a technical foul. The coach supplied a roster with the player listed. This is a scorer's error. Now let's play.

I walk away. Next thing I hear is the timer yelling to the home coach and the fans behind the home bench that it's a technical foul but I don't know the rule and won't call it.

I walk back to the table ask quietly the timer. "Is there a problem?" "Yes, it's a technical foul." I explained it once more and told him that was the end of the discussion. As I walked away again, he yelled, "YES SIR!" at which time I turned and asked where I could find the principal or AD.

I explained the problem and asked him if he had another ECO. He said no but asked if he could talk to him and take care of the problem. He did and we had no further problem.

Some people just don't get it.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:00am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
There's nothing HTBT about this. The timer's job is to flip the switches and keep his mouth shut.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
IOW Had to have been there to see everything unfold in person.

I would never have insisted it was a T, I would of politely asked & after hearing the answer gone on with duties/responsibilities, not turned it into a soap opera like the idiot in the OP did.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
There's nothing HTBT about this. The timer's job is to flip the switches and keep his mouth shut.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Kinda odd that the player was listed on the roster yet never was listed in either book.This sounds like a HTBT as I would of responded diffrently than that timer.
Why would you respond at all? It' absolutely none of your concern as the timer.

Quote:
Question however, since the player was not listed in either book yet the V HC said the scorer was supplied the roster, how could that not be an Administrative T as the name/number have to be added?
Where did I say the V HC said a word?

The visiting team's roster was lying on the table. The visting scorer missed #13 on the roster. The home scorer copied the visitor's book instead of the roster. BOTH scorers were in error, not the V HC. It was a bookkeeping error whcih can be corrected at anytime.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
There's nothing HTBT about this. The timer's job is to flip the switches and keep his mouth shut.
+1
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:18am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Seriously, he's gotta be putting us on.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 07:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Seriously, he's gotta be putting us on.
No, going by his posting history he is that clueless. And you can't tell him anything because he just doesn't comprehend what you're telling him. Why expect anything different from him?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 07:21am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Seriously, he's putting us on.
Ya know, I never considered that........

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
No, going by his posting history he is that clueless. And you can't tell him anything because he just doesn't comprehend what you're telling him. Why expect anything different from him?
THAT I considered!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 07:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
NFHS rule 10-1-1- "A team shall not fail to supply the scorer with the name and number of each team member who may participate...at least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time."

NFHS rule 10-1-2(b)- "After the 10-minute time limit specified in Article 1: add a name to the team list."

Chseagle, you're looking at the wrong rule. Did the team supply the scorer with a list that included player #13 as required under R10-1-1? Yes! Did the scorer have to add a name to the team list that was given to him? No! What you want us to do is assess a penalty under rule 10-1-2(b) for a team failing to comply with rule 10-1-1. We can't do that because at no time was there a violation of rule 10-1-1. The team DID supply a correct team list that included player #13, and did so in a timely fashion. And you can't give a team a "T" for adding a name to a team list when that name was already on their team list.

The scorer screwed up, not the team. And any know-nothing timer that tries to involve themself in a situation that they simply do not understand should be banished from the kingdom.

Now......enough is enough and too much is plenty. Zip it!

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Sat Dec 11, 2010 at 07:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:16am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Kinda odd that the player was listed on the roster yet never was listed in either book.This sounds like a HTBT as I would of responded diffrently than that timer.

Question however, since the player was not listed in either book yet the V HC said the scorer was supplied the roster, how could that not be an Administrative T as the name/number have to be added?
It's not a technical because the official book failed to correctly copy the properly supplied roster. We're not going to penalize a team because the book failed to copy the supplied roster. If we did this, every game would start with a technical because the book "forgot" to copy a number from the visiting team.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
I was asking about the Administrative T as the name had to be added to both scorebooks although it was initially supplied.

Since the name/number was added after the officials checked the rosters in both books, it would be considered an Administrative T.

"Administrative:
Providing rosters; starters; numbers; changes,
additions, etc.; team not ready to start half, TV
monitor, electronic communication; not
occupying assigned bench; more than five
players; excess time-out; violation after team
warning for delay; all players not returning at
same time after time-out or intermission (10-1)"

Just trying to figure out how it would not be considered as such since having to add the player, even though the roster was supplied.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
It's not a technical because the official book failed to correctly copy the properly supplied roster. We're not going to penalize a team because the book failed to copy the supplied roster. If we did this, every game would start with a technical because the book "forgot" to copy a number from the visiting team.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:51am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
I was asking about the Administrative T as the name had to be added to both scorebooks although it was initially supplied.

Since the name/number was added after the officials checked the rosters in both books, it would be considered an Administrative T.

"Administrative:
Providing rosters; starters; numbers; changes,
additions, etc.; team not ready to start half, TV
monitor, electronic communication; not
occupying assigned bench; more than five
players; excess time-out; violation after team
warning for delay; all players not returning at
same time after time-out or intermission (10-1)"

Just trying to figure out how it would not be considered as such since having to add the player, even though the roster was supplied.
Like was said earlier, this was a book keeping error. All a team is required to do is provide a proper roster by the 10 minute mark. If this is done, then the team has fulfilled its requirement. If we went by how you think the rule is administered, literally every game would start with a technical foul against the visitors or at some point a number would have to be added because the home team "forgot" to add the number.

Now if the book properly copied all the names and numbers from the supplied roster, and THEN there had to be an addition after the 10 minute mark, there would would have an administrative technical foul.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 02:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Question

Generally, rosters are copied from one scorebook to another not from a roster supplied by the coach, except for that team's roster either from the coach's memory or a previous game.

As I understood the rules, the rosters are to be in the scorebook(s) by the ten minute mark in order to be supplied, not just a paper lying next to the scorebook for the scorer to copy from.

Just trying to get clarification, as I have seen it called as an administrative T before.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Like was said earlier, this was a book keeping error. All a team is required to do is provide a proper roster by the 10 minute mark. If this is done, then the team has fulfilled its requirement. If we went by how you think the rule is administered, literally every game would start with a technical foul against the visitors or at some point a number would have to be added because the home team "forgot" to add the number.

Now if the book properly copied all the names and numbers from the supplied roster, and THEN there had to be an addition after the 10 minute mark, there would would have an administrative technical foul.
__________________
"Ask not what your teammates can do for you. Ask what you can do for your teammates"--Earvin "Magic" Johnson
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 01:54am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
I was asking about the Administrative T as the name had to be added to both scorebooks although it was initially supplied.

.............the roster was supplied.
The penalty is not for adding the name to the book. The penalty is for adding it to the team member list. (roster)


Seriously, you've gotta be putting us on.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 11, 2010, 08:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
IOW Had to have been there to see everything unfold in person.
No you don't HTBT. BktBallRef described it all in sufficient detail.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
I was asking about the Administrative T as the name had to be added to both scorebooks although it was initially supplied.

Since the name/number was added after the officials checked the rosters in both books, it would be considered an Administrative T.

"Administrative:
Providing rosters; starters; numbers; changes,
additions, etc.; team not ready to start half, TV
monitor, electronic communication; not
occupying assigned bench; more than five
players; excess time-out; violation after team
warning for delay; all players not returning at
same time after time-out or intermission (10-1)"

Just trying to figure out how it would not be considered as such since having to add the player, even though the roster was supplied.
You highlighted the wrong part. The key word is "Providing". The team complied with that.

Otherwise, an unscrupulous home scorer could "forget" to add a name or two, or mark down the wrong starters and give his/her team an advantage.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chseagle video? fullor30 Basketball 12 Tue Mar 09, 2010 06:23pm
Hey chseagle Mark Padgett Basketball 21 Tue Jan 05, 2010 01:03am
Chuckle - tonight I'm the timer dsqrddgd909 Basketball 8 Sat Dec 19, 2009 07:16am
I had THAT play tonight (timer error) canuckrefguy Basketball 26 Thu Jun 09, 2005 03:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1