The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 07:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, it doesn't peclude anything. If it said the player "accidentally lets the ball get away," or "player accidentally gives up control," you'd be correct. There's nothing in that statement that precludes intent; except to you.
You have to completely change the subject of the sentence to get there. The rule talks about what the ball is doing, not what the player is doing. The difference is important.

Quote:
Players intentionally give up control all the time on plays where the ball goes precisely where they intended it to go.
What difference does this make? I'm not saying a player can't intentionally give up control. I'm saying a player can't intentionally start an interrupted dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 07:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
You have to completely change the subject of the sentence to get there. The rule talks about what the ball is doing, not what the player is doing. The difference is important.


What difference does this make? I'm not saying a player can't intentionally give up control. I'm saying a player can't intentionally start an interrupted dribble.
Precedent, that's all. The ball gets away from the player, the rule says nothing about how it happened. Whether it's forced away intentionally, or it accidentally gets away.

The ball doesn't do anything on its own. It's not a Quidditch snitch.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 07:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Precedent, that's all. The ball gets away from the player, the rule says nothing about how it happened. Whether it's forced away intentionally, or it accidentally gets away.

The ball doesn't do anything on its own. It's not a Quidditch snitch.
:shrug: I think you're reaching to make the rule fit what you want it to say rather than just read it.

I've never before heard anyone describe a ball that has been forced away as getting away. It's not the common meaning of the term.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
:shrug: I think you're reaching to make the rule fit what you want it to say rather than just read it.

I've never before heard anyone describe a ball that has been forced away as getting away. It's not the common meaning of the term.
You're reading way too much into this rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 07:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
You're reading way too much into this rule.
I maintain I'm reading less into it than the other side.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 06, 2010, 08:33pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
I maintain I'm reading less into it than the other side.
Naw, you're adding something to the rule that isn't in it anywhere...and what you're adding is intent. We're at the "repeating the same thing over and over" stage though. Time to let 'er go.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2010, 01:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Orion, MI
Posts: 152
I had this play the other night in an 8th grade game. Rebounder gets the ball and begins his dribble parallel to the endline. His momentum is going to carry him out of bounds, so he let's the ball continue to bounce in bounds. He gets a foot back in bounds and continues the dribble with one hand, did not catch the ball. Picked up his dribble on a bounce. I had no violation. He did not have control of the ball while OOB. Established his inbounds position with one foot and continued dribble, so no double dribble, either.

Separate question...if the player had caught the ball in the above situation and then continued his dribble, would you have double dribble? I would have called it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2010, 01:18pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142 View Post
I had this play the other night in an 8th grade game. Rebounder gets the ball and begins his dribble parallel to the endline. His momentum is going to carry him out of bounds, so he let's the ball continue to bounce in bounds. He gets a foot back in bounds and continues the dribble with one hand, did not catch the ball. Picked up his dribble on a bounce. I had no violation. He did not have control of the ball while OOB. Established his inbounds position with one foot and continued dribble, so no double dribble, either.

Separate question...if the player had caught the ball in the above situation and then continued his dribble, would you have double dribble? I would have called it.
Absolutely would have been. Great no-call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 07, 2010, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142 View Post
I had this play the other night in an 8th grade game. Rebounder gets the ball and begins his dribble parallel to the endline. His momentum is going to carry him out of bounds, so he let's the ball continue to bounce in bounds. He gets a foot back in bounds and continues the dribble with one hand, did not catch the ball. Picked up his dribble on a bounce. I had no violation. He did not have control of the ball while OOB. Established his inbounds position with one foot and continued dribble, so no double dribble, either.

Separate question...if the player had caught the ball in the above situation and then continued his dribble, would you have double dribble? I would have called it.
Regardless of whether you consider it an interrupted dribble or not, it ends when A1 catches the ball. If A1 starts another dribble, it will be an illegal dribble.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dribbler goes out of bounds oldschool Basketball 12 Tue Oct 12, 2010 06:28pm
Dribbler Out of Bounds? Spence Basketball 9 Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:25am
Player to touch ball after going out of bounds kirtley29 Basketball 3 Thu Jan 12, 2006 08:25am
First to touch ball after stepping out of bounds ridavis13 Basketball 6 Tue Jan 11, 2005 03:45pm
Dribbler out-of-bounds. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 9 Mon Mar 19, 2001 02:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1