The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 01:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I don't have my FED books handy, but I don't think that's the correct parsing of the rule (iirc, it's one of those rules with multiple "or" clauses and it could be unclear to which the "while" clause applies).
It is but the other clauses aren't relevant here.

Quote:
A player shall not illegally contact the backboard/ring by:

b. Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
It is but the other clauses aren't relevant here.
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
It can be read that way, but then the comment from 10.3.4 doesn't make any sense as there would never be a need to use 10-3-6 for the T.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:28pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
It can be read that way, but then the comment from 10.3.4 doesn't make any sense as there would never be a need to use 10-3-6 for the T.
How does the entire comment for 10.3.4 read and how does 10-3-6 read?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 06:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
How does the entire comment for 10.3.4 read and how does 10-3-6 read?
Here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10.3.4
The purpose of the rule is to penalize intentional contact with the board while a shot or try is involved or placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. A player who strikes either backboard so forcefully it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration may be assessed a technical foul pursuant to Rule 10-3-6.
Rule 10-3-6 doesn't even address the backboard, this is included in the "not limited to" portion of 10-3-6.

In practice, I can't imagine any time a player would slap the backboard without a try involved that wouldn't be ruled a technical foul. It's either an attempt to draw attention, or vent frustration. That doesn't mean it couldn't happen (never say never or always), I just can't imagine it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 08:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Here:

Rule 10-3-6 doesn't even address the backboard, this is included in the "not limited to" portion of 10-3-6.

In practice, I can't imagine any time a player would slap the backboard without a try involved that wouldn't be ruled a technical foul. It's either an attempt to draw attention, or vent frustration. That doesn't mean it couldn't happen (never say never or always), I just can't imagine it.
I'm primarily thinking of a situation where the ball has already passed below the level of the rim so the try has ended.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 11:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eastshire View Post
I'm primarily thinking of a situation where the ball has already passed below the level of the rim so the try has ended.
The try may be over here, but it's still involved in the play.

I'm picturing one of two scenarios:
1. Try on the way down, B1 slaps the other side of the backboard. T
2. Try on the way down, B1 slaps the same side of the backboard. I'll likely assume he was trying to either block it or get the rebound.

For #1, I'd obviously use 10-3-6, but frankly, the coach isn't going to ask for a rule reference when you ring up his player for this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Parse it this way:

b. (1)Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or
(2)causing the ring to vibrate while a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket.

IOW, it's only the "causing the ring to vibrate" part that deals with a try in flight or touching the backborad, ...
That's the way I've always interpreted.

But I do want to know the wording for the "unsporting" act East is referring to. I still have 90 minutes before I can get to my books.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 23, 2010, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,262
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That's the way I've always interpreted.

But I do want to know the wording for the "unsporting" act East is referring to. I still have 90 minutes before I can get to my books.
The only wording on unsporting slapping comes from 10.3.4 Comment. It's not address directly in 10-3-6. Slightly paraphrased

"draw[ing] attention to [yourself] or [as] a means of venting frustration" (10.3.4 Comment)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending Referee24.7 Basketball 10 Fri Jan 09, 2009 08:56am
Goaltending jc147119 Basketball 3 Tue Dec 30, 2008 05:14pm
Goaltending or not? ofishe8r Basketball 14 Thu Feb 28, 2008 03:15pm
Goaltending? actuary77 Basketball 26 Sun Oct 29, 2006 04:25pm
goaltending Matt S. Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2000 10:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1