![]() |
|
|
|||
60 Hours On Officiating ...
Quote:
A1, who has ended his dribble, throws an alley oop pass to A2. A2 gets blocked out at the last second and doesn't come anywhere near catching, or even touching, the alley oop pass. The pass from A1 hits the top right corner of A1's backboard and rebounds immediately back to A1, who catches the rebounded ball and dribbles out of the lane. Please note that no decisions regarding a pass, or try, are needed in this hypothetical play. It says pass on three separate occasions. It's a pass, not a try. Period. Ruling? Citation please? Just for kicks, lets assume that it's a test question, needing a "rulebook answer". Here's a cheat sheet: NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Here's the 60 Seconds On Officiating website take: "Throwing the ball and hitting the backboard of the team in possession is always considered a try for goal. The tossing player may compete to recover the ball, and if they do, they have the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble. Note that the 60 Seconds On Officiating website is a partner of IAABO. I don't know what their relationship is with NFHS.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
It's legal, and the player who recovers the ball has all the priveleges of anyone else who "recovers" a loose ball. |
|
|||
In Billy's defense, Nevada's case play still leaves some questions unanswered. It says that the other two instances are violations because they constitute another dribble. So all we know for certain based on this case play is that throwing against one's own backboard is not a dribble. The fact that the word "equipment" is in quotes means what? Does this throw and catch wipe the slate clean for that player or is it the same as the player throwing the ball up, bouncing it off his own head (also part of his "equipment") and catching it again?
This case play alone tells us very little, as far as I can see. If the following sentence appeared somewhere in the books it would be helpful. Any thrown ball which strikes the ring or backboard of the throwing team without being first touched by a teammate shall be treated as a try, regardless of apparent intent.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
KISS! Otherwise...paralysis through freaking analysis. Always listen to Bob and everybody stop thinking so damn much. |
|
|||
That particular language is a relatively recent addition to the case. I can't remember if something else changed when they added it.
|
|
|||
Quote:
I also remember a very, very old case play dating back to the early 70's iirc that said that this play was a judgment call. That case play disappeared after 2/3 years also iirc because no one would ever judge that it wasn't always a try. To the best of my knowledge what is now outlined in 9.5 is the way the play is universally adjudicated. If it's thrown at your own board and hits it, it's a try. End of endless arguments. Period. |
|
|||
In Theory ..
Quote:
In practice, universally adjudicated as a try? Totally agree. I'm taking a one question rules exam, based on written rules, and I've bet my house that I will get this one question correct. Before I take said exam, I need to know few things. Here's what we've got: 9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and (c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) We know that the player can stop his dribble, throw it off his own backboard, and legally catch it. Does he legally "have the same privileges as the other nine players on the court to shoot the ball or begin a dribble"? Here's my one question exam (you've seen this question before): A1, who has ended his dribble, throws an alley oop pass to A2. A2 gets blocked out at the last second and doesn't come anywhere near catching, or even touching, the alley oop pass. The pass from A1 hits the top right corner of A1's backboard and rebounds immediately back to A1, who catches the rebounded ball and dribbles out of the lane. (please note that it says pass on three separate occasions. It's a pass, not a try.) Because I've bet my house on this, I've brought a cheat sheet (you've seen this before): NFHS 9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of: ART. 1 A try for field goal. ART. 2 A touch by an opponent. ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player. Ruling to one question exam, please? Written rule citation, please? Jurassic Referee: Thanks for going through your old books. Even though we somewhat disagree, I appreciate your efforts to solve this odd situation that the guys over at 60 Seconds On Officiating have thrust upon us, and many others all over the internet.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 26, 2010 at 12:29pm. |
|
|||
4.15.4 situation c ...
Quote:
(a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Give That Man A Cigar ...
Maybe Santa will bring us this for Christmas. If not, the guys over at "60 Seconds On Officiating" should get coal in their stockings. High sulfur, Chinese coal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 26, 2010 at 10:41am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
backboard | timeout | Basketball | 32 | Wed Nov 17, 2010 12:39pm |
Over the Backboard | cubsfanllw | Basketball | 19 | Thu Dec 25, 2008 03:33am |
top of backboard | gduck | Basketball | 8 | Mon Mar 04, 2002 07:47pm |
Over the backboard | williebfree | Basketball | 4 | Tue Dec 04, 2001 11:08am |
Over the backboard | luanchpad | Basketball | 8 | Mon Dec 20, 1999 04:04pm |