![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
jar, for all practical purposes, I agree with you. I agree with the fact the NCAA-W handle this particular situation the best. While there may be some situations where a double foul could be warranted in a blarge, the vast majority of the time it is simply two different opinions of one contact, and by rule, they both cannot be correct. But because of sloppy or incorrect mechanics, 2 officials have given differing preliminary signals. However, what you and I think is "best" is not what the NFHS rulesmakers want us to do. In this particular case, for only this particular play, we need to follow the rule. I've mentioned my theory that the committee must think that officials are not following proper mechanics (by both officials giving a prelim signal without deferring to the primary), so they will make the outcome somewhat less desirable, in order to force the officials to do it correctly to avoid the less-desireable outcome. Perhaps the committee actually feels the appearance of one official over-ruling another is something that is more important than whether a block and charge cannot happen at the same time. But, whatever the reason, I really don't think the intent is to change some sort of rule fundamental (is it either a block or a charge?) but rather to change bad mechanics by officials. If you want to petition the NFHS to change this rule, I will gladly sign the petition. But, in the meantime, I have to side with the others in that it is very clear in the intent on how the rule is currently written. If it will make you feel better, I can post the same windmill picture I've posted for Snaqs in the past... ![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Shut up. (Ahh...the season is here!)
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
"If two officials give conflicting signals on a block/charge play, both fouls must be penalized." This would make the intent clear. If not for hearing it here, I can honestly say that it never would have occurred to me that the signals used/not used had any bearing on the case. Is there another example of a signal, or the lack thereof, forcing a call to be made? The case book is supposed to give examples of/explain further/clarify the meaning of things in the rulebook, is it not? There are cases, and this is one, which make huge groundbreaking strides way beyond what is written in the rule itself. Would anyone here ever, in their wildest dreams, have considered calling a double foul on this play, based solely on the rule, if not for this case play?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Alternating Possession Question | Timer Dave | Basketball | 13 | Thu Dec 10, 2009 09:49pm |
Alternating Possession Question | OFISHE8 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:57am |
Fun Test Question: Alternating Possession / Throw-in | NYBAREF | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 19, 2003 02:17pm |
Alternating possession question. | Suppref | Basketball | 3 | Thu Mar 22, 2001 03:36pm |
Alternating Possession Question | jshock | Basketball | 11 | Mon Dec 04, 2000 08:34am |