The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Alternating Possession Question NFHS (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/59674-alternating-possession-question-nfhs.html)

26 Year Gap Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:08pm

Alternating Possession Question NFHS
 
The next one I'm struggling with: [bballrefinks]

#7. The alternating-possession procedure is used when a double personal foul is called while A1's successful try is in flight.

I've answered true, but the only reference I can find is Rule 6-4-3g, which covers a non-goal, it doesn't say anything about a succesful try.

Copy & paste is your friend. Now you can delete the other post.

26 Year Gap Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:11pm

The key is to read through the entire question. You know it is in flight when the foul occurs. And you know it is successful. What happens on a double foul? [you can look at definitions for starters]

Back In The Saddle Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:15pm

I found these helpful:

6-4-3g, 7-5-3b, 7-4-3, 4-36-2b
8.7A, 7.5.3

FYI: To assist with the clarity of rules and case references we generally adhere to the following convention - rules references are indicated by separating numbers by dashes (e.g., 6-4-3g) and cases by dots (e.g., 7.5.3).

Welpe Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:16pm

I was trying to figure out how you didn't know this one 26 Year...I get it now.

bballref, as 26 year said, look in the definitions. Once you piece them together you can get the whole answer.

26 Year Gap Tue Nov 09, 2010 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700170)
I found these helpful:

6-4-3g, 7-5-3b, 7-4-3, 4-36-2b
8.7A, 7.5.3

[I]FYI: To assist with the clarity of rules and case references we generally adhere to the following convention - rules references are indicated by separating numbers by dashes (e.g., 6-4-3g) and cases by dots (e.g., 7.5.3).[/I]

MTD's original partner, some guy named Morse, wrote the first rule book.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 10, 2010 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700170)
FYI: To assist with the clarity of rules and case references we generally adhere to the following convention - rules references are indicated by separating numbers by dashes (e.g., 6-4-3g) and cases by dots (e.g., 7.5.3).

The red just tells me that you don't read the case book. ;)

The convention is clearly described in the foreward.

Amesman Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:28am

This could be a terrible idea ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 700263)
The convention is clearly described in the foreward.

Which is often generally called a foreword. :p

26 Year Gap Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 700292)
Which is often generally called a foreword. :p

You really have to guard against misspellings and grammatical errors sometimes.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 700292)
Which is often generally called a foreword. :p

Since some aren't (apparently) reading the rules book or the case book, I put that in on purpose to see if they are reading my posts.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.

CDurham Wed Nov 10, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 700164)
The next one I'm struggling with: [bballrefinks]

#7. The alternating-possession procedure is used when a double personal foul is called while A1's successful try is in flight.

I've answered true, but the only reference I can find is Rule 6-4-3g, which covers a non-goal, it doesn't say anything about a succesful try.

Copy & paste is your friend. Now you can delete the other post.

Would you count the goal, then give the ball POI to team B if the goal is successful or go to the AP throw in if unsuccessful??

Back In The Saddle Wed Nov 10, 2010 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 700335)
Would you count the goal, then give the ball POI to team B if the goal is successful or go to the AP throw in if unsuccessful??

Half right. Okay, really you are entirely right, but there is a point to be made as regards your verbiage and the thinking it implies.

With a double foul you always resume play at the POI. In the case of a made basket, the POI is a throw-in anywhere along the end line for B. If the basket is missed, the POI is the AP arrow.

My point is that POI and AP arrow are not different answers. The AP arrow is one of the possible ways to resume play when utilizing the POI rule.

CDurham Wed Nov 10, 2010 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 700337)
Half right. Okay, really you are entirely right, but there is a point to be made as regards your verbiage and the thinking it implies.

With a double foul you always resume play at the POI. In the case of a made basket, the POI is a throw-in anywhere along the end line for B. If the basket is missed, the POI is the AP arrow.

My point is that POI and AP arrow are not different answers. The AP arrow is one of the possible ways to resume play when utilizing the POI rule.

Thanks. Is it possible to have a double foul with a airborne shooter? I know you can have is it a false double??

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 10, 2010 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 700349)
Is it possible to have a double foul with a airborne shooter?

Yes, but highly unlikely. Very highly unlikely.

Adam Wed Nov 10, 2010 04:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 700355)
Yes, but highly unlikely. Very highly unlikely.

True, but it's not required in order to have the shot count.

You know that, but I'm offering the clarification for those who may not.

Zoochy Wed Nov 10, 2010 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 700349)
Thanks. Is it possible to have a double foul with a airborne shooter? I know you can have is it a false double??

Is a Blarge a double foul?:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1