The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 13
Okay let me see if I have this straight in my thick skull.

4.12.6 SITUATION: During a throw-in by A1 from the end line by A’s basket (b) the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3. RULING: There is no a backcourt rule in effect in (b) during a throw-in. The throw-in ends in (b) when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control. (9-7, 8)

9.9.1 SITUATION D: Team A is awarded a throw-in near the division line. A1's
throw-in is deflected by B1; A2 jumps from Team A’s frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. A2 gains player and team control in the air after having left the floor from Team A’s frontcourt, therefore having frontcourt status. As soon as A2 lands in the backcourt, he/she has committed a backcourt violation. The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-3)
__________________________________________________ _______________
In 4.12.6 the throw in ended and the exception ended when touched by A2. However A3 gained conrol of it in Back Court not in front court. So not a back court since it wasn't in control in the front court.

In 9.9.1 D: Since A2 gains contol of ball while having frontcourt status, and the throw end exception had ended, it is backcourt when A2 lands in back court. Had the ball never been touched before A2 gaining control then it would not had been a backcourt when A2 landed as the exception granted during a throw in had not ended.

Thinking out loud! Think I have it now. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by pop_ey View Post
In 4.12.6 the throw in ended and the exception ended when touched by A2. However A3 gained control of it in Back Court not in front court. So not a back court since there was no team control when the ball was touched in the frontcourt it wasn't in control in the front court.

In 9.9.1 D: Since A2 gains control of ball while having frontcourt status, and the throw-in exception had ended, it is backcourt when A2 lands in back court. Had the ball never been touched before A2 gaining control then it would not had been a backcourt when A2 landed as the exception granted during a throw in had not ended.

Thinking out loud! Think I have it now. Thanks.
Correct as amended.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed Case Book contradiction? JEL Baseball 16 Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:13am
NFHS Fake Tag-Case Book jwwashburn Baseball 8 Thu Jul 13, 2006 08:34am
nfhs case book plays andy1033 Football 1 Sun Jul 24, 2005 08:37pm
NFHS 2002 Case book play 1.5.6 Mike Simonds Football 11 Mon Mar 03, 2003 12:45pm
NFHS 2002 Rule/Case Book Changes. whiskers_ump Softball 1 Fri Feb 08, 2002 12:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1