![]()  | 
	
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				NCAA Correctable Error Scenario
			 
			
			
			First-time poster, long time reader here... 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	Some fellow officials and I were discussing the following scenario: A2 is erroneously awarded a 1-1 and makes both free throws. Team B inbounds the ball and dribbles to midcourt and calls a timeout. During the timeout, it's discovered that A2 was awarded unmerited free throws. What happens next? This appears to be a correctable error, since the error was discovered during the 1st dead ball after the ball went live. So, the free-throws would be canceled, and Team A would be awarded a throw-in at mid-court, which was the point of interruption when the error was discovered. Sound reasonable? Some disagreed and thought the free-throws should count, followed by a Team B throw-in at mid-court. Not even going to try and explain their logic behind that. I couldn't find a case play that matched that scenario, although there were a few that were close (Case book, pg11, A.R. 20. Thoughts?  | 
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Correctable error | moref | Basketball | 1 | Sat Dec 19, 2009 06:36pm | 
| New Correctable error casebook play 2.10.1 - NCAA treatment | CallMeMrRef | Basketball | 7 | Wed Feb 18, 2009 02:42pm | 
| Correctable error | dbking | Basketball | 1 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:01pm | 
| Correctable error | mplagrow | Basketball | 9 | Sun Jan 08, 2006 08:52am | 
| Correctable error | batreferee | Basketball | 1 | Fri Feb 20, 2004 09:25am |