The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
Not to hijack my own post, but aren't you referring to 7-1-2(a)1 that states a ball is out of bounds when it touches or is touched by a player who is out of bounds?

Snaqs answered my original question and I'm still trying to chew on that one (not that the technical rule interpt is wrong, but rather how I'd explain it to a coach during a game).
Not exactly; 7-1-2 refers to the ball, while 7-1-1 refers to the player.

If B1 is standing OOB, or even just has 1 foot OOB, they are considered OOB per 4-35-2. Now, if A1, who is holding the ball, happens to touch B1, (or B1 reaches out and touches A1), and the "player/person" exception wasn't in 7-1-1, A1 would be now have caused the ball to go OOB, and would have committed a violation. I believe the exception also prevents a player who may be standing fully inbounds, and accidentally touching a player or coach who is fully OOB, from also committing a violation.

If B1, with one foot OOB, touched the ball while A1 is holding it, B1 would have caused the ball to go OOB, and would be the one to have committed a violation, as per 7-1-2.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1