![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
If B1 is standing OOB, or even just has 1 foot OOB, they are considered OOB per 4-35-2. Now, if A1, who is holding the ball, happens to touch B1, (or B1 reaches out and touches A1), and the "player/person" exception wasn't in 7-1-1, A1 would be now have caused the ball to go OOB, and would have committed a violation. I believe the exception also prevents a player who may be standing fully inbounds, and accidentally touching a player or coach who is fully OOB, from also committing a violation. If B1, with one foot OOB, touched the ball while A1 is holding it, B1 would have caused the ball to go OOB, and would be the one to have committed a violation, as per 7-1-2.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Corrected the above statement.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
While I know that's not the wording in the rule, I simply put that in for information. Can you think of any reason A1 would purposely touch a player or coach who's standing OOB?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Well, I suppose you could also see a coach slap a player 'up side the head for not running the play correctly, too...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Yes, if a player were losing his balance and someone to keep him from falling.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
What if the player is holding the ball, but losing his balance so he reaches over and puts his hand on a photographer who kneeling in the OOB area near the court? This action allows the player to regain his balance and not contact the OOB area.
|
|
|||
A little rules study !!
By my interpretation of 7-1-1, this would be a legal play. Upon further review, 7.1.1 Sit A (b) is this play. However, the rule, also, requires a judgement as to whether or not the touch is inadvertent and/or A1 did it without gaining an advantage.
__________________
![]() ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|