The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
I believe the exception also prevents a player who may be standing fully inbounds, and accidentally touching a player or coach who is fully OOB, from also committing a violation.
Corrected the above statement.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Corrected the above statement.
While I know that's not the wording in the rule, I simply put that in for information. Can you think of any reason A1 would purposely touch a player or coach who's standing OOB?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 12:59pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
While I know that's not the wording in the rule, I simply put that in for information. Can you think of any reason A1 would purposely touch a player or coach who's standing OOB?
Sure: a high five.
Also, situations could arise where a coach would touch his player (loud gym).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Sure: a high five.
Also, situations could arise where a coach would touch his player (loud gym).
Well, I suppose you could also see a coach slap a player 'up side the head for not running the play correctly, too...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 10:24am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Well, I suppose you could also see a coach slap a player 'up side the head for not running the play correctly, too...
Now was that so hard?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 08, 2010, 03:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
While I know that's not the wording in the rule, I simply put that in for information. Can you think of any reason A1 would purposely touch a player or coach who's standing OOB?
Yes, if a player were losing his balance and someone to keep him from falling.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 02:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yes, if a player were losing his balance and someone to keep him from falling.
What if the player is holding the ball, but losing his balance so he reaches over and puts his hand on a photographer who kneeling in the OOB area near the court? This action allows the player to regain his balance and not contact the OOB area.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 04:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 677
A little rules study !!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
What if the player is holding the ball, but losing his balance so he reaches over and puts his hand on a photographer who kneeling in the OOB area near the court? This action allows the player to regain his balance and not contact the OOB area.
By my interpretation of 7-1-1, this would be a legal play. Upon further review, 7.1.1 Sit A (b) is this play. However, the rule, also, requires a judgement as to whether or not the touch is inadvertent and/or A1 did it without gaining an advantage.
__________________
THE FLY IS OPEN, LET'S GO PEAY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 09:17am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lcubed48 View Post
By my interpretation of 7-1-1, this would be a legal play. Upon further review, 7.1.1 Sit A (b) is this play. However, the rule, also, requires a judgement as to whether or not the touch is inadvertent and/or A1 did it without gaining an advantage.
Where is advantage mentioned in the rule?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Where is advantage mentioned in the rule?
In the last line of the case play he mentioned: "Inadvertantly touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation."
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 27, 2010, 09:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 62
"May not touch an object or person oob to gain an advantage." Should be added I think.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1