![]() |
|
|
|||
What if the player is holding the ball, but losing his balance so he reaches over and puts his hand on a photographer who kneeling in the OOB area near the court? This action allows the player to regain his balance and not contact the OOB area.
|
|
|||
A little rules study !!
By my interpretation of 7-1-1, this would be a legal play. Upon further review, 7.1.1 Sit A (b) is this play. However, the rule, also, requires a judgement as to whether or not the touch is inadvertent and/or A1 did it without gaining an advantage.
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
In the last line of the case play he mentioned: "Inadvertantly touching someone who is out of bounds, without gaining an advantage, is not considered a violation."
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I would think so; maybe the initial "touch" would've been inadvertant, but once the player used that contact to keep from falling and regain their balance, that makes the contact more than inadvertant and accidental.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Of course it is!
Quote:
![]()
__________________
![]() ![]() |
|
|||
Obviously, I already knew the answer, but I felt that posing a question would be the best way to highlight this point to those discussing and reading this thread.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|