The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 09, 2010, 03:32pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64 View Post
Actually by rule, I believe u would be wrong on that ruling. If player A attempts a dribble while in air then "by rule" he has traveled. U cannot dribble without having a pivot foot.
You're completely wrong by rule.

NFHS casebook play 4.15.1SitA(b)
While rebounding, A1 touches the ball while trying to gain control, after which A1 catches the ball and then pushes the ball to the floor to begin a dribble.
RULING: Legal. The dribble does not start until A1 has gained control.

Legal under NCAA rules also.

Camron gave the correct rationale.

Think of the play where A1 passes to A2 and A2 tips the ball to the floor without gaining possession and then dribbles away. A2 never established a pivot foot. Would you really call this traveling?

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Sep 09, 2010 at 03:38pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1