The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 12:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
If the foul occurred before the end of the game, shouldn't there be some time on the clock?
Not necessarily. If none of the officials see time on the clock after the whistle blows, there will be no time on the clock when the FTs are shot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
If you do choose to clear the lane and a player refuses. That would fall under your delay of game/unsporting infractions.
Just go with a delayed violation, IMO. No need to make this harder than that.

The way this will play out:
"ref, I want to stand on the lane."
"Well, if you do, it's a violation."
"Never mind."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 02:04pm
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
I respectfully disagree with this interpretation.

I am not administrating the free throw until the player vacates the marked lane spaces. By rule he is delaying the administration of a free throw - according to rule 10 in the NCAA manual.

As far as the time is concerned, there is never an excuse for a 3-person crew to not be fully aware of game clocks/shot clocks ESPECIALLY at the end of a ballgame. If the foul occured before the clock shows zeroes, the exact time when the whistle blew should be put back on the clock. Otherwise, if the foul ocurred at or following the expiration of time it is ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 02:13pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
I respectfully disagree with this interpretation.

I am not administrating the free throw until the player vacates the marked lane spaces. By rule he is delaying the administration of a free throw - according to rule 10 in the NCAA manual.

As far as the time is concerned, there is never an excuse for a 3-person crew to not be fully aware of game clocks/shot clocks ESPECIALLY at the end of a ballgame. If the foul occured before the clock shows zeroes, the exact time when the whistle blew should be put back on the clock. Otherwise, if the foul ocurred at or following the expiration of time it is ignored.
Fair enough; let's just say I feel more confident in explaining a violation to my assigner, based on very direct rules backing, than I would in using rule 10 to justify a T for delaying making the ball live. He's not delaying unless you let him. Simply give the ball to the shooter, now it's live.

As for the end of game situation; you can be aware all you want, but if the foul occurs with roughly .2 second left, by the time the on-ball official blows the whistle causing the partner to look at the clock, the horn will have blown.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 02:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Let me set it this way, tio.

Normal FT for A1. B5 is not along the lane, but drops along the 3 pt line to a spot even with the lower block. You tell him to move up, and he doesn't.

What do you do?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Let me set it this way, tio.

Normal FT for A1. B5 is not along the lane, but drops along the 3 pt line to a spot even with the lower block. You tell him to move up, and he doesn't.

What do you do?
Tell him to move, and if he doesn't (and is persistent about it, ....) then I T him up.

I agree with Tio in the OP (but it's all theoretical -- it will never come to that).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 07:19am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Tell him to move, and if he doesn't (and is persistent about it, ....) then I T him up.
Fwiw....+1

Just tell the player what the rule is. If the player doesn't want to follow a rule, it's an easy "T" under 10-3-6. And if the l'il sh!t is still adamant about not moving and his coach doesn't want to do anything about it either, I ain't gonna argue with him/them any further. Give 'em a minute to comply and then it's Hasta La Vista; forfeit under 5-4-1. Put the onus where it belongs- on the person(s) causing the problem. And that includes the head coach who is supposed to be in control of his players.

We should never have to plead with anybody to have a simple rule followed.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 25, 2010, 08:08am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,563
I am fairly convinced that if this situation took place, I could say what I needed to say to not have to give a T at least in a situation where the ball is dead. I think this is a very good question, but sometimes we have to figure out how to talk to people and get what we want, even with some conflict as apart of the situation.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post

As far as the time is concerned, there is never an excuse for a 3-person crew to not be fully aware of game clocks/shot clocks ESPECIALLY at the end of a ballgame. If the foul occured before the clock shows zeroes, the exact time when the whistle blew should be put back on the clock. Otherwise, if the foul ocurred at or following the expiration of time it is ignored.
This can happen even if the crew is perfectly aware of the time....

A1 goes up to shoot, releases the ball, horn sounds, and before A1 lands, B5 crashes into A1 knocking A1 into the 3rd row. The time legitamately ran out prior to the ball becoming dead or the shooter lands.

Even more common...

A1 goes up to shoot and, before A1 lands, B5 crashes into A1, horn sounds, whistle sounds (patient whistle...as it is generally bad habit to blow the whistle the instant there is contact). This is not all that unreasonable and, without video replay to get the exact time the foul occured, there will be no basis for adding time back to the clock...but the foul occurred before the horn and is sufficient to warrant a foul.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 02:51pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1 goes up to shoot and, before A1 lands, B5 crashes into A1, horn sounds, whistle sounds (patient whistle...as it is generally bad habit to blow the whistle the instant there is contact). This is not all that unreasonable and, without video replay to get the exact time the foul occured, there will be no basis for adding time back to the clock...but the foul occurred before the horn and is sufficient to warrant a foul.
I had something similar happen in a game this last season. Seconds left in the 4th quarter with a tie game. Team A dribbler drives the lane, goes airborne for a shot, gets fouled and releases the shot. I hit my whistle for the foul and the horn sounds a fraction of a second later. The shot does not go in, so we shoot two with the lane cleared (he missed them both).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 03:45pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I had something similar happen in a game this last season. Seconds left in the 4th quarter with a tie game. Team A dribbler drives the lane, goes airborne for a shot, gets fouled and releases the shot. I hit my whistle for the foul and the horn sounds a fraction of a second later. The shot does not go in, so we shoot two with the lane cleared (he missed them both).
Correct as per NFHS rule 5-6-2 EXCEPTION3- "If a foul occurs so near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the clock stopped BEFORE time expires or after time expires, but while the ball is in flight for a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity gave been completed."

NCAA rule 5-7-3(c) basically says the exact same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
I respectfully disagree with this interpretation.

I am not administrating the free throw until the player vacates the marked lane spaces. By rule he is delaying the administration of a free throw - according to rule 10 in the NCAA manual.
So... you are going to allow B1 to linger before you administrate the Free Throw to A1. You are playing right into his hands. You are helping B1 'Ice' the shooter.
We got grilled from one of our observers because we did not administrate the Free Throw in an appropriate time frame. Once I informed B1 that if he did not move, then A1 was going to shoot the free throw until he made it. That got him to obey.
Unless the game clock was staring us in the face we were not going to be able to observe the time. Our lag time to turn our heads to see the clock would have been slower than the lag time of the game clock timekeeper.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 07:21pm
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
So... you are going to allow B1 to linger before you administrate the Free Throw to A1. You are playing right into his hands. You are helping B1 'Ice' the shooter.
We got grilled from one of our observers because we did not administrate the Free Throw in an appropriate time frame. Once I informed B1 that if he did not move, then A1 was going to shoot the free throw until he made it. That got him to obey.
Unless the game clock was staring us in the face we were not going to be able to observe the time. Our lag time to turn our heads to see the clock would have been slower than the lag time of the game clock timekeeper.
I am going to "ask" him to go where he belongs. If he refuses, I will proceed with the delay process. You chose a different way to get through this and I applaud your efforts. However, I don't believe the rules support administering a free throw with anyone in the lane when the ball is to become dead after the final shot. If the rules & actions support my call, I never have to worry about my decision.

With the clock, I would probably get rid of the lagtime term. This term was removed from the NFHS manual a couple of years ago. On every play, there is a 3rd official away who should be all over the clock. Things can get complicated if you are in an auxiliary gym with only one clock on the baseline. The way I read the OP was that the whistle clearly sounded before the expiration of time. If that is the case, the crew needs to be really good and know the remaining time. Especially true at the end of a close ballgame.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tio View Post
I am going to "ask" him to go where he belongs. If he refuses, I will proceed with the delay process. You chose a different way to get through this and I applaud your efforts.
Just curious, so a few questions:

Would you hold up the administration of a normal FT if a player were standing outside of the 3pt line, but well below the FT line extended?

Would you ask this player to go where he belongs?

What penalty would you assess if he doesn't move?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 08:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just curious, so a few questions:

Would you hold up the administration of a normal FT if a player were standing outside of the 3pt line, but well below the FT line extended?

Would you ask this player to go where he belongs?

What penalty would you assess if he doesn't move?
Yes, Yes, T.

What do you do if you notice A and B occupying the "opposite spaces" before you administer a FT? What if B chooses not to occupy a space and A puts an "extra" player in there? What if B tries to go "below" the block?

I ask them to move, and they do. If they refused, then I'd deal with that.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 24, 2010, 08:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, Yes, T.

What do you do if you notice A and B occupying the "opposite spaces" before you administer a FT? What if B chooses not to occupy a space and A puts an "extra" player in there? What if B tries to go "below" the block?

I ask them to move, and they do. If they refused, then I'd deal with that.
Bob,
I agree that the officials should check that the players are properly lined up prior to administering the FT.

I'm not sure that a T is the proper penalty. What rule would you point to for issuing a T here?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What happened to the T to start the game--NCAA Game thread? w_sohl Basketball 1 Tue Mar 10, 2009 01:32pm
Jordan's 63 pt game - Game 2 of 1st round 1986 Eastern Conference Playoffs Cajun Reff Basketball 15 Fri Mar 07, 2008 09:56am
Twenty technicals in one game - all for delay of game! Mark Padgett Basketball 14 Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:55pm
Next game teams warming up on field during game reccer Softball 6 Mon Jul 16, 2007 03:00pm
Cursed Game: 3 Injuries, 2 ambulance calls, 1 game wadeintothem Softball 3 Mon Oct 16, 2006 04:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1