![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The calling official has reported the foul and proceeds to his/her proper position for the first of two free throws awarded to A1. Two B players are not occupying the first two marked lane spaces next to the end line as required. RULING: Team B will be directed to occupy the required spaces. If there is a delay, a team technical foul is charged to team B (4-47). Posted for anybody reading that might not be a basketball official and doesn't have the required books. It's that easy and simple. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
JR: I know that R1-S1-A5 is about Team Technical Fouls. AND, I will agree with you, hat under certain circumstances the penalty for the infraction in the OP is a team TF could be the correct penalty, BUT, R4-S47-A2 and R10-S1-A5d do not apply to the OP. R4-S47-A2 and R10-S1-A5d were adopted in response to teams huddling in the free throw lane causing a delay in the administering of the free throw(s). This is not the case in the OP; the huddle in the OP was NOT in the free throw lane. YES, there is a delay in the ball becoming live, but it is caused by player(s) intentionally NOT occupying the first lane space(s), or a HC instructing his player(s) to NOT occupying the first lane space(s). And depending upon the situation it could be a TF charged to the player(s), the HC, or to the team. AND, if it is charged to the team it is not because of an infraction of R4-S47-A2 and R10-S1-A5d. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
And that's all that you know. Your lack of understanding of a definitive rules reference is appalling...but hardly surprising. It's a waste of time discussing this any further with you.
|
|
|||
|
TEAM TECHNICAL.
My answer to MTD early this afternoon when he called me with this play was TEAM TECHNICAL but I did not have rule book handy. Tonight I looked it up. Final answer: TEAM TECHNICAL. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Obviously not, Rev.
|
|
|||
|
Oh, He believes I am Right. He told me so.
The problem is He does not believe he is Wrong. |
|
|||
|
I think what Mark is saying is that there may be unsportsmanlike behavior that is connected with players not filling the lane spaces can be penalized with an individual T under the unsportsmanlike rules....and that he'd only address the greater infraction...no double jeopardy.
This philosophy is not unlike a player making contact with another player with his/her elbow....it could be rule just about anything---incidental, common/PC, intentional, or flagrant---depending on the magnitude and circumstances. We have case plays on that topic that suggest one or the other but they don't preclude other rulings as the situation may warrant. However, I do agree that it should be a team T in nearly all cases, but could imagine a situation where a T on the coach might be deserved and applicable...after which there would be no need to have the spaces filled....thus no team T for not having them filled.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Delay of Game | red | Football | 6 | Fri Sep 04, 2009 07:08am |
| Twenty technicals in one game - all for delay of game! | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 14 | Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:55pm |
| Delay of Game | IAUMP | Basketball | 16 | Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:08am |
| delay of game | chasbo | Football | 5 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:07am |
| Delay of game!!!! | jaywilk | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 01, 2003 03:00pm |