The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 10:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
It won't suprise some that I am now confused.
If Team A is shooting, there is only the requirement that Team B have two players on the appropriate lane spaces. Team A is only required to have the shooter on the appropriate "lane space". So if Coach A wants to talk to his/her 4 other players that is legal. I am not aware of that rule changing but may be wrong.
The NFHS Case book section being referenced actually allows for a free throw to be attempted by A1 even if Team B is not occupying the appropriate spaces (10.1.5) I am not sure what the difference would be between the team coming out of a TO or just huddling, would you still follow the procedure?
Also, the case book cites team "T's" to be given when team members are huddling and delaying the game. Again, I am not sure what the difference would be when a coach calls his team over and delays. Personaly, I would be inclined to tell the coach I need the two players on the lane. If they continue to huddle, I would be inclined to T the coach b/c it is now the COACH causing the delay and not the players. I would have no problem writing this up if it was their second "T" and had to leave. Any game video would show that the coach was warned and had opportunity to break the huddle. It would be up to THEM to explain to their AD/Principal why they didnt' comply with the officials request. Especially, if they already HAD a "T"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
The NFHS Case book section being referenced actually allows for a free throw to be attempted by A1 even if Team B is not occupying the appropriate spaces (10.1.5)
Yes, but only because you've called a T.

So you'd call the T, and then shoot the (original) FT's with the lane spaces empty because the ball will be dead afterward.

Then shoot the FT's for the T (lane still cleared) and put the ball in play accordingly.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 10:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
In Situation A that "T" only comes if the players are not in place in time for the substitute free throw
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
In Situation A that "T" only comes if the players are not in place in time for the substitute free throw
We're talking about 10.1.5 Situation C.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 01:39pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,140
A review of the thread so far, or lets make a short story long.

Let us look at 2009-10 NFHS R10-S1-A5; it states:

"A team shall not allow the game to develop into an actionless contest, this includes the following and similar acts:
a. When the clock is not running consuming a full minute through not being ready when it is time to start either half.
b. Delay the game by preventing the ball from being made promptly live or
from being put in play. See 7-5-1 and 8-1-2 for the resumption-of-play
procedure to use after a time-out or the intermission between quarters. The
procedure is used prior to charging a technical foul in these specific
situations.
c. Commit a violation of the throw-in boundary-line plane, as in 9-2-10, after any team warning for delay.
d. Contact with the free thrower or a huddle of two or more players in the lane by either team prior to a free throw following any team warning for delay.
e. Interfering with the ball following a goal after any team warning for delay.
f. Not having the court ready for play following any time-out after any team warning for delay."


Now let us look and 2009-10 NFHS Casebook Play 10.1.5 Situation C. This particular Casebook Play is divided into two (2) seperate situations (a) and (b), and the rule reference for the rulings in both (a) and (b) is NFHS R4-S47. R4-S47 is the correct rule reference for 10.1.5 Situation C(a) BUT it is NOT the correct rule reference for 10.1.5 Situation C(b) which is the the situation that is the play in the original post of this thread.


R10-S1-A5(c, d, e, and f) are the Rule 10 penalties for any further infractions of R4-S47 after the first one. The similar acts phrase of R10-S1-A5(b) could be possibly be applied to the OP but as I have stated in my second post (Post #13) of this thread, that there are two rules that better cover this situation and situations similar to it, and they are R10-S3-A5(A) and R10-S4-A1.

Failure of an individual(s) to occupy the first lane space(s) after being instructed to do so are infractions of the rules by an individual(s), except when part of the Resuming Play Procedure and the OP is not a RPP situation.

Applying the wrong rule to a situation in a Casebook Play is not something new by the NFHS. R4-47 does not apply to the OP anymore that it applies to 10.1.5 Situation C(b).

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 02:06pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
R10-S1-A5(c, d, e, and f) are the Rule 10 penalties for any further infractions of R4-S47 after the first one. The similar acts phrase of R10-S1-A5(b) could be possibly be applied to the OP but as I have stated in my second post (Post #13) of this thread, that there are two rules that better cover this situation and situations similar to it, and they are R10-S3-A5(A) and R10-S4-A1.

Failure of an individual(s) to occupy the first lane space(s) after being instructed to do so are infractions of the rules by an individual(s), except when part of the Resuming Play Procedure and the OP is not a RPP situation.

Applying the wrong rule to a situation in a Casebook Play is not something new by the NFHS. R4-47 does not apply to the OP anymore that it applies to 10.1.5 Situation C(b).

MTD, Sr.
I don't care how many 10,00 word essays you post to try and obfuscate the facts, Mark. It just ain't gonna work. Somewhere along the line, you have to come up with something out of the rule/case book that will back you up. And you can't do that because the case book completely contradicts your latest flight of fancy.

The numbering of case book plays corresponds to the rule being referenced. Casebook play 10-1-5SitC(b) relates to rule 10-1-5. Rule 10-1-5 is about TEAM technical fouls. It's that freaking simple.

The situation described in the original post is the EXACT same situation that is described in case book play 10-1-5SitC(b). It's also that freaking simple. And casebook play 10.1.5SitC(b) says that it's a team technical foul, NOT a freaking direct technical foul on the head coach.

And basically what you are saying is that we should completely ignore the rules and do what you advocate. Do you realize how truly ridiculous that concept is?

And I'm saying that anyone who is stoopid enough to do what you advocate deserves to be doing games at the Podunk, Ohio Middle School with you as their partner. They are at the absolute level of their competency.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Mon Jun 21, 2010 at 02:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 11:33am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
If they haven't come out of the timeout huddle, use RPP which allows the FT to be administered without the two defenders on the lane.
If they have come out of the timeout, then the coach pulls them back to huddle, then RPP doesn't apply and you simply direct him to provide you with two players and issue a team T if he doesn't comply.
If there is no timeout involved at all, then once again you do not use RPP for this situation; tell coach you need two, then T if he doesn't comply.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
It won't suprise some that I am now confused.
If Team A is shooting, there is only the requirement that Team B have two players on the appropriate lane spaces. Team A is only required to have the shooter on the appropriate "lane space". So if Coach A wants to talk to his/her 4 other players that is legal. I am not aware of that rule changing but may be wrong.
The OP said Team B was huddling, thus the need for the two players. (Don't worry, I didn't catch it at first either.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Yeah, I saw that. Subsequent posts had B or A shooting with that team huddling, that is where I was confused
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 02:32pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Judtech View Post
Yeah, I saw that. Subsequent posts had B or A shooting with that team huddling, that is where I was confused
It was MTD Sr. that had A and B mixed up completely back in post #5. He went back and corrected it, but it lives on in my post #8 in my response to that post of his.

Mark is pretty damn good at confusing people. Gotta give him that.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
It was MTD Sr. that had A and B mixed up completely back in post #5. He went back and corrected it, but it lives on in my post #8 in my response to that post of his.

Mark is pretty damn good at confusing people. Gotta give him that.
shows what I get for using one of your posts as a reference!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 21, 2010, 08:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
MTD,
You are not correct on this. Now please stop.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Delay of Game red Football 6 Fri Sep 04, 2009 07:08am
Twenty technicals in one game - all for delay of game! Mark Padgett Basketball 14 Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:55pm
Delay of Game IAUMP Basketball 16 Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:08am
delay of game chasbo Football 5 Fri Dec 12, 2003 10:07am
Delay of game!!!! jaywilk Football 10 Wed Oct 01, 2003 03:00pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1