The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 03:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Three things to watch in a single play

Three things to watch in a single play on Yahoo! Video

1, is it a travel? 2, block/charge/flop? 3, is the initial rebound clean?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
If that was Bishop Dwenger, then it was a travel, charge, and flagrant push on the rebound!! (And I am fairly certain the coach was WWAAAYYY out of his box!)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 03:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The video is too grainy to tell for sure, but the travel is close. It looks like he picks up his pivot before he releases the ball for the dribble, but it's hard to tell.
The defender looks like he was falling before contact was even made, I'm probably letting that one go.
The rebounder goes over the top, but I can't see any displacement of the player in front of him. From this angle, it looks clean to me.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
1. Travel
2. Flop
3. Rebound bad angle to see contact, if any
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
1. Travel
2. Flop
3. Rebound bad angle to see contact, if any
My thoughts too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 04:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 144
1. Travel. I have to admit though that I was more focused at looking at the travel at the end of the drive. The initial dribble looks like a travel as his pivot foot is lifted prior to the dribble, but as he ends, it appears that he jumps off his left foot, then obviously lands right, left. Though it is difficult to tell if he is already airborne when he ends his dribble.
2. No call here.
3. Does not look like much contact from this camera angle. "C" had the opportunity at the best look at it.

More importantly, what does everyone think of the officials positioning in relation to the play? This is my number one priority this summer, so something I want to learn more about from the experts in these situations. It appears to me as if T could close down on the rebounding action, and C could do the same (maybe getting a better look at the rebound??).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,183
T & C closing down on all shots is a good thing. Position adjustments usually just require a step or two... stay connected
__________________
I gotta new attitude!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: depends on your perspective
Posts: 697
1. travel - pivot foot lifts before ball released
2. flop
3. could not see a push from the trail official's angle
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 20, 2010, 04:00pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
1. Travel
2.Flop
3.Big guy gets rebound over little guy - nothing there
4. T and C both need to move more to get better angles
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 08:28pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
May have had a travel call, but definitely no whistle for anything else that happened on that play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 11:33am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,124
I am getting in on the fun late, but here is my take.

1) Travel by W44: A previous poster said that it was too close call a travel and he is on the correct school of thought in not calling a travel. In fact, I do not even think it is close to traveling.

2) Charge by W44: My labeling of this section should give everybody an idea of my feelings about this play. (a) The Black defender (I will call him B1 because I cannot read his number) had obtained/NFHS a LGP. (b) Yes, the camera is not the best, but my concern is that the T started to close down when W44 started his drive and then stopped when he could have and should have closed down two more steps, that would have given him a good angle to see if W44 made illegal contact with B1 or if B1 flopped. (c) Based upon my vast experience and number of years of experience: I have a CHARGE! on W44.

3) The rebounding play I do not care about because I have always stopped play because of the charging fould by W44, .

MTD, Sr.


P.S.: That means there is a missing choice on Snaqs poll, .
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 11:44am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,332
"The Black Defender". Good Name For A Comic Book Superhero ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Charge by W44: The Black defender had obtained a LGP.
I can't question your assertion that the Black defender had legal guarding position, it's just that I'm not 100% sure why he fell down: charged into, tripped over his own feet as he was backpedaling, or flopped?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
I do not even think it is close to traveling.
Check out the two steps after the jump stop. It's a tough call, whether in a real time situation, or even on the video, it can certainly be called either way, but, at the least, it's "close" to a travel.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 12:30pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,124
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I can't question your assertion that the Black defender had legal guarding position, it's just that I'm not 100% sure why he fell down: charged into, tripped over his own feet as he was backpedaling, or flopped?



Check out the two steps after the jump stop. It's a tough call, whether in a real time situation, or even on the video, it can certainly be called either way, but, at the least, it's "close" to a travel.


Billy:

I watched the tape at least five time with regards to the possiblity of traveling and I think that from what I could see on the tape I think that before I would call traveling I would have to have been the T and seen it it in real time and not on a TV screen.

I agree with you that the video is not a very good way to determine whether B1 flopped or not, but you know my philosophy of when in doubt, CHARGE IT! because it is the American Way for everybody to be in debt, oh wait, that is my political stump speech, .

My concern about the charge call is that the T started to close down when W44 started to drive and then stopped instead of staying with the play. Had the T continued to close down one or two more steps, he would have continued to have a very good angle to see if there was illegal contact by W44 of if B1 flopped.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 11:35am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
I think the travel is close, so I give the benefit of the doubt to the crew.

If you watch the offensive player on the collision, he did not go through the defender (in fact he is able to stop on a dime and gather for a shot attempt). So the play was a Correct No-Call by the crew.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to stretch single to double... counts as a single? harpstar Baseball 1 Thu Jun 26, 2003 05:41am
single umpires? Tom Sprague Baseball 11 Tue Jul 17, 2001 07:06am
Double or Single Violation? Dennis Nicely Basketball 11 Thu Feb 08, 2001 03:24pm
+POS Single Bar Face Mask RAC Baseball 3 Tue Oct 31, 2000 08:12am
SINGLE referee looking for mentor sip Basketball 1 Wed Mar 01, 2000 12:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1