The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 12:30pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I can't question your assertion that the Black defender had legal guarding position, it's just that I'm not 100% sure why he fell down: charged into, tripped over his own feet as he was backpedaling, or flopped?



Check out the two steps after the jump stop. It's a tough call, whether in a real time situation, or even on the video, it can certainly be called either way, but, at the least, it's "close" to a travel.


Billy:

I watched the tape at least five time with regards to the possiblity of traveling and I think that from what I could see on the tape I think that before I would call traveling I would have to have been the T and seen it it in real time and not on a TV screen.

I agree with you that the video is not a very good way to determine whether B1 flopped or not, but you know my philosophy of when in doubt, CHARGE IT! because it is the American Way for everybody to be in debt, oh wait, that is my political stump speech, .

My concern about the charge call is that the T started to close down when W44 started to drive and then stopped instead of staying with the play. Had the T continued to close down one or two more steps, he would have continued to have a very good angle to see if there was illegal contact by W44 of if B1 flopped.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Given that you're the only one who says this. What did you see?
I saw a player who clearly established his left foot as his pivot foot on the catch. I saw a player start a drive to his right using his right foot to start the drive. I saw a player alight nearly simultaneously (aka jump stop) before jumping to release his shot.

At no point did I see a travel violation committed by the offensive player.

IMHO, the only place that I can see someone calling a travel would be on the jump stop - and even then, I would disagree with that call.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 05:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea View Post
I saw a player who clearly established his left foot as his pivot foot on the catch. I saw a player start a drive to his right using his right foot to start the drive. I saw a player alight nearly simultaneously (aka jump stop) before jumping to release his shot.

At no point did I see a travel violation committed by the offensive player.

IMHO, the only place that I can see someone calling a travel would be on the jump stop - and even then, I would disagree with that call.
Fair enough. It looked to me like he may have pulled his pivot foot before releasing the dribble, but I'm basing that more on ground covered since the video is too grainy to tell for sure. OTOH, the official on ball didn't call it, so deferring to his judgment wouldn't be a bad way to go either.

I was just curious to your reasoning.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea View Post
I saw a player who clearly established his left foot as his pivot foot on the catch. I saw a player start a drive to his right using his right foot to start the drive. I saw a player alight nearly simultaneously (aka jump stop) before jumping to release his shot.

At no point did I see a travel violation committed by the offensive player.

IMHO, the only place that I can see someone calling a travel would be on the jump stop - and even then, I would disagree with that call.
I guess I missed the section in the rule book that says a jump stop can be nearly simultaneous. If there are two distinct steps it is a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 10:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
I guess I missed the section in the rule book that says a jump stop can be nearly simultaneous. If there are two distinct steps it is a travel.
check out the section about establishing a pivot foot. it discusses what a player can/cannot do when both feet hit the floor simultaneously and what a player can/cannot do when a player "alights his/her feet nearly simultaneously". there is a difference....the initial act - deemed to be a jump stop - is not considered traveling.

in my experience, the higher the level you work, the more you will see the jump stop (whether simultaneous or nearly simultaneous) used.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 11:35am
Tio Tio is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 463
I think the travel is close, so I give the benefit of the doubt to the crew.

If you watch the offensive player on the collision, he did not go through the defender (in fact he is able to stop on a dime and gather for a shot attempt). So the play was a Correct No-Call by the crew.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffpea View Post
check out the section about establishing a pivot foot. it discusses what a player can/cannot do when both feet hit the floor simultaneously and what a player can/cannot do when a player "alights his/her feet nearly simultaneously".
That last quoted phrase is in the FED / NCAA rules book? I haven't picked one up in several months, but I don't recall that.

And, I'm sure Kelvin has worked at a high enough level to see more than just a few jump stops -- whether legal or illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 24, 2010, 07:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That last quoted phrase is in the FED / NCAA rules book? I haven't picked one up in several months, but I don't recall that.

And, I'm sure Kelvin has worked at a high enough level to see more than just a few jump stops -- whether legal or illegal.
Around here, you see it quite a bit even in high school JV ball. And if there's a discernible gap between the feet hitting, it's a travel IMO. That ain't "near" enough.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to stretch single to double... counts as a single? harpstar Baseball 1 Thu Jun 26, 2003 05:41am
single umpires? Tom Sprague Baseball 11 Tue Jul 17, 2001 07:06am
Double or Single Violation? Dennis Nicely Basketball 11 Thu Feb 08, 2001 03:24pm
+POS Single Bar Face Mask RAC Baseball 3 Tue Oct 31, 2000 08:12am
SINGLE referee looking for mentor sip Basketball 1 Wed Mar 01, 2000 12:28am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1