![]() |
|
|||
Bulls/Cavs- changed call?
I was waiting to see if anybody posted on this play from last night...
Late in the 4th, Rose is fouled by Shaq- the ball goes up and in. C gives the "and one". Crew comes together and then changes the call to a simple blocking foul. Now that is what I saw- perhaps I missed an explanation. Did I see that right? What is the NBA rule on continuation and is changing a call proper? Also, didn't the same "C" also have another tough call almost immediately after changing the call on Rose...? I thought he did, but can't remember the specific play. Wonder how many of us in the same situation (not NBA) would be crowning the HC at the HS or College level after changing a call and then having the next call go against him/her...? |
|
|||
Two things:
1. I thought that the foul was clearly prior to the action of shooting, but that is coming from an NFHS and NCAA perspective. The NBA rules on this aspect of the game seem to be different and give the offensive player a more favorable slant. Perhaps by NBA rules he was shooting. 2. I thought that the offensive player traveled after being fouled and prior to releasing the try for goal. Of course, by NBA rules, perhaps he didn't travel. ![]() |
|
|||
I saw that! Thought he should've got the bucket +1 because he gathered & never dribbled again. They DID lose by two as well. It can happen to the best of us.
I think its appropriate for partners to provide info & the calling official change their call or not, at any level of play. Not sure about any subsequent calls...
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
Are you saying that after a HC gets a T that the next call shouldn't go against his team? If so, that's complete BS. I would hope that no self-respecting official would try to mitigate the penalty for a technical foul by looking for a call against the other team as the next call to make. Last edited by Nevadaref; Wed Apr 28, 2010 at 06:56pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think we should find a reason to put them on the line as opposed to looking for reasons to say "nice try, but take it out & try again." JMO
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
However, you are not correct about the rules for all three codes being written the same. Simply ending the dribble by gathering the ball does not begin the act of shooting at the NFHS or NCAA levels. The NBA also has something about "upward movement" iirc, but I'm no expert on the rules at that level, yet I can tell you with certainty that they don't match the other two levels. Even more importantly the interpretation of the written rules differs at the NFHS and NCAA levels. So how these plays are commonly called is vastly different. |
|
|||
I respect that!
But as I sit here looking at the continuous motion rule in all three books, it still means the same thing at all levels to me. IMO, A1 driving to the basket below the FT line extended, picks up their dribblle & illegal contact occurs. If they dont pass or request a TO & continue with the shot, I like to put em on the line.
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Please try something for me and see if it gives you pause to think about your current position. Instead of looking at the definition of continuous motion focus upon the definition of "act of shooting," particularly how it begins. See if there is any discernible difference there amongst the codes.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Bad advice. And that's my opinion. Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Apr 28, 2010 at 09:09pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I've asked him to research that point. |
|
|||
Quote:
For the record, the TIMING of the whistle is what makes it easier to sell. If you pop upon immediate contact, you'll get some grief. Patient whistles on drives to the bucket are much more easier to sell. Quote:
IMHO officials that look for a reason to take the ball out instead of rewarding the player with FTs have the difficulty ![]() Just kidding, I respect your stance but I will keep doing what has been working me & my progression in the craft ![]()
__________________
I gotta new attitude! Last edited by tref; Thu Apr 29, 2010 at 09:26am. Reason: add a comment |
|
|||
Quote:
Simply appearing confident in what you are doing is always the best sell imo. Jmo. |
|
|||
Quote:
Really, at the HS or college level, how do you try to diffuse the situation and move forward? What DON'T you want to say in terms of an explanation if you are C or either partner? I would never suggest attempting to jimmy a call so a coach doesn't get peeved, nor would I go the "make up call" route. |
|
|||
Quote:
Or an IC not be questioned whatsoever because of the officials verbal at the spot & a strong presentation? Thats what I mean by "selling the call" NOT hopping all over the court & those type of antics. We have to be believable JR or nobodys gonna buy our act. I've seen "that guy" and boy do they have long nights when nobody is buying their act. Quote:
Meaning, once I pop & indicate 2 shots then the coach/players says "that was late" or "this is not the NBA" I'm going to the table stronger than normal, verbalizing/signaling where he got em & how play will continue in a very professional manner ![]() Quote:
![]() That's all I have to say on this. I may need assignments from you someday! lol
__________________
I gotta new attitude! |
|
|||
Quote:
How, specifically, does a correct call go "down the toilet," for this or any other reason?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
i saw an illegal call by the ref in the bulls/rockets game | PackersFTW | Basketball | 34 | Wed Feb 04, 2009 07:39pm |
1st time - I changed a call | ranjo | Basketball | 8 | Wed Mar 07, 2007 04:50pm |
Umpire Call Changed | Little Papas | Baseball | 36 | Wed Apr 26, 2006 09:30am |
NBA two man.....CAVS game | afrothunda | Basketball | 15 | Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:07pm |
A changed call at Texas | Carl Childress | Baseball | 71 | Tue Feb 27, 2001 01:23am |