The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 07, 2007, 11:58am
Official Forum Member

1st time - I changed a call

I do not remember ever changing a call after I made it except on an OOB with observations from a partner. Last night was an exception. Here's what happened.

Mens rec 35 & older - NFHS rules with some modifications on fast breaks. First night of a new season and I am working by myself because there just aren't enough officials to cover all the games tonight. I have been doing this league for many years so I know most of the players and their tendencies.

Second half - A1 shoots a jumper from the top of the key, misses, and goes for the rebound along with B1. The rebound comes straight back and long so both players are facing me as I have assumed a trail position. B1 in an attempt to get the ball looses his balance and makes contact with A1 throwing him off balance also. A1 grabs B1's shirt with both hands on his way down to the floor and appears to me to add a little extra tug as they both hit the deck.

I call a flagrant on A1 for body slamming B1. He protests adamantly, but does not scream or curse, saying he was under cut by B1 and grabbed him on the way down as a natural reaction to break his fall. I move away from the players to report to the scorer as A1 gathers his stuff and starts to leave the gym.

As I am gathering my thoughts and getting a shooter for free throws, players from both teams approach me saying they thought I missed the call and there was no intent to do harm to B1. To this point in the game, worked things have been going quite smoothly and I have been letting players call there own out of bounds if I didn't have a good look with great results and no auguments.