The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Only if they had called BI at the time the play occurred. They can't fail to call BI and then go back and call it later.

There is a case play which says that the officials can correct the error if they erroneously count or cancel points on a BI call, but that assumes that the call was actually made.
They also can't uncall BI once the ball is put back in play.

What they can correct is the points that should have been credited/not-credit as a result of the BI as called.

Examples...
  • they call offensive BI but count the points...that is correctable.
  • they call defensive BI but cancel the points...that is correctable.
They can't call defensive BI, count the points, then, after the ball is in play, decide it was offensive BI instead of defensive BI and cancel the points (or decide it was not BI at all and cancel the points).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1