The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Whatchagot? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57732-whatchagot.html)

ranjo Mon Mar 29, 2010 06:51pm

Whatchagot?
 
Had a fellow official poise this senerio from one of his games and decided it would be a good one for the forum.

A1 drives to the basket and releases the ball before time expires in the quarter. A2 leaps into the air in anticipation of an rebound and as he leaps, B1 steps underneath him without making contact. It was reasonable for A2 to believe that, given B1's position on the floor, he might be injured if he returned directly to the floor so A2 grasped the rim to avoid injury. However, when he grasped the rim, the ball was in the basket but had not come all the way through the net. The crew decided that since A1 had grasped the basket to avoid injury, it was not basket interference and counted the basket.

By rule, did they get it right?

APG Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 671442)
Had a fellow official poise this senerio from one of his games and decided it would be a good one for the forum.

A1 drives to the basket and releases the ball before time expires in the quarter. A2 leaps into the air in anticipation of an rebound and as he leaps, B1 steps underneath him without making contact. It was reasonable for A2 to believe that, given B1's position on the floor, he might be injured if he returned directly to the floor so A2 grasped the rim to avoid injury. However, when he grasped the rim, the ball was in the basket but had not come all the way through the net. The crew decided that since A1 had grasped the basket to avoid injury, it was not basket interference and counted the basket.

By rule, did they get it right?

Grabbing the rim to avoid injury absolves a player from receiving a technical foul but does not negate basket interference. From the sounds of it, basket interference is the correct call.

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 671442)
A1 drives to the basket and releases the ball before time expires in the quarter. A2 leaps into the air in anticipation of an rebound and as he leaps, B1 steps underneath him without making contact. It was reasonable for A2 to believe that, given B1's position on the floor, he might be injured if he returned directly to the floor so A2 grasped the rim to avoid injury. However, when he grasped the rim, the ball was in the basket but had not come all the way through the net. The crew decided that since A1 had grasped the basket to avoid injury, it was not basket interference and counted the basket.

By rule, did they get it right?

No.

No "T" but it's BI ...... case book play 9.11.4.

Nevadaref Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 671443)
Grabbing the rim to avoid injury absolves a player from receiving a technical foul but does negate basket interference. From the sounds of it, basket interference is the correct call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 671446)
No.

No "T" but it's BI ...... case book play 9.11.4.

Yep, yep.

ranjo Mon Mar 29, 2010 07:44pm

JR and Nevada -

Thank you gentlemen - I was just too busy/tired/trifling to do the research myself.

ranjo Mon Mar 29, 2010 08:40pm

Lets add another twist to this play. Suppose the officials got together at the first dead ball after incorrectly awarding points on the play, determined they had erred, and invoked a correctable ruling using 2-10-1e.

Could this, in your opinion, be considered a correctable error?

Nevadaref Mon Mar 29, 2010 08:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 671475)
Lets add another twist to this play. Suppose the officials got together at the first dead ball after incorrectly awarding points on the play, determined they had erred, and invoked a correctable ruling using 2-10-1e.

Could this, in your opinion, be considered a correctable error?

Only if they had called BI at the time the play occurred. They can't fail to call BI and then go back and call it later.

There is a case play which says that the officials can correct the error if they erroneously count or cancel points on a BI call, but that assumes that the call was actually made.

ranjo Mon Mar 29, 2010 08:51pm

Seems like a good way to start a riot even if they were correct in taking away the awarded points!

Camron Rust Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 671477)
Only if they had called BI at the time the play occurred. They can't fail to call BI and then go back and call it later.

There is a case play which says that the officials can correct the error if they erroneously count or cancel points on a BI call, but that assumes that the call was actually made.

They also can't uncall BI once the ball is put back in play.

What they can correct is the points that should have been credited/not-credit as a result of the BI as called.

Examples...
  • they call offensive BI but count the points...that is correctable.
  • they call defensive BI but cancel the points...that is correctable.
They can't call defensive BI, count the points, then, after the ball is in play, decide it was offensive BI instead of defensive BI and cancel the points (or decide it was not BI at all and cancel the points).

Pantherdreams Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ranjo (Post 671442)
Had a fellow official poise this senerio from one of his games and decided it would be a good one for the forum.

A1 drives to the basket and releases the ball before time expires in the quarter. A2 leaps into the air in anticipation of an rebound and as he leaps, B1 steps underneath him without making contact. It was reasonable for A2 to believe that, given B1's position on the floor, he might be injured if he returned directly to the floor so A2 grasped the rim to avoid injury. However, when he grasped the rim, the ball was in the basket but had not come all the way through the net. The crew decided that since A1 had grasped the basket to avoid injury, it was not basket interference and counted the basket.

By rule, did they get it right?


They got it wrong 100% of the time.

As others have said 99% of the time thats a BI call. No basket but no Tech.

1% of the time its a Duke player on the rim in the dying minutes of huge game. In that case you count the hoop, call a foul on player near the guy who jumped up and hung on the rim, when he lands let him shoot free throws, and then when he starts celebrating and talking trash on the landing call a tech on the first kid from the defensive team who sticks up for their teammates while allowing everyone else in the ensuing scrum to do or say whatever they feel like. ;)

AKOFL Tue Mar 30, 2010 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 671639)
They got it wrong 100% of the time.

As others have said 99% of the time thats a BI call. No basket but no Tech.

1% of the time its a Duke player on the rim in the dying minutes of huge game. In that case you count the hoop, call a foul on player near the guy who jumped up and hung on the rim, when he lands let him shoot free throws, and then when he starts celebrating and talking trash on the landing call a tech on the first kid from the defensive team who sticks up for their teammates while allowing everyone else in the ensuing scrum to do or say whatever they feel like. ;)

Which game would this be?

Nevadaref Tue Mar 30, 2010 06:34pm

Duke vs. Baylor

There was a missed offensive BI on a dunk attempt by a Duke player.

Loudwhistle Tue Mar 30, 2010 10:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 671640)
Which game would this be?

Hey AKOFL check your PMs!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1