The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranjo View Post
Lets add another twist to this play. Suppose the officials got together at the first dead ball after incorrectly awarding points on the play, determined they had erred, and invoked a correctable ruling using 2-10-1e.

Could this, in your opinion, be considered a correctable error?
Only if they had called BI at the time the play occurred. They can't fail to call BI and then go back and call it later.

There is a case play which says that the officials can correct the error if they erroneously count or cancel points on a BI call, but that assumes that the call was actually made.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 29, 2010, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
Seems like a good way to start a riot even if they were correct in taking away the awarded points!
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 30, 2010, 12:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Only if they had called BI at the time the play occurred. They can't fail to call BI and then go back and call it later.

There is a case play which says that the officials can correct the error if they erroneously count or cancel points on a BI call, but that assumes that the call was actually made.
They also can't uncall BI once the ball is put back in play.

What they can correct is the points that should have been credited/not-credit as a result of the BI as called.

Examples...
  • they call offensive BI but count the points...that is correctable.
  • they call defensive BI but cancel the points...that is correctable.
They can't call defensive BI, count the points, then, after the ball is in play, decide it was offensive BI instead of defensive BI and cancel the points (or decide it was not BI at all and cancel the points).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1