The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 10, 2010, 09:52pm
Official Forum Member

Officiating and job interviews...

I've been working high school games for about 15 years (consistantly qualifying for state and district playoffs) and am at the D-II college level (a handful of games per year).

Unfortunately, my real life job will soon be eliminated. As such, I'll be starting the process of looking for a new one.

I wanted to see how best to handle the subject of officiating during the job interview process. Reffing games is clearly something I want to continue doing, but not if it is going to risk my new job -- or the prospect of getting a new job.

Is it something I bring up on my own? Is it something that I mention if they ask about what my hobbies are (in that case, I would think it's fair game to bring it up)? Is there anyone out there who has been in this situation -- as either the interviewer or the interviewee?

Part of me wants to bring it up, perhaps as a conversation piece, perhaps as a bit of full disclosure.

Looking for advice.

Thanks... I look forward to hearing from anyone.
Old Wed Mar 10, 2010, 10:05pm
Travel, Offside & Strike!

Our2,

I'm going through the same thing right now & changing careers.. definitely a scary/exciting time.

I mentioned my reffing ( I go year round with soccer and ball), and didn't get shot down during my initial interview. I'm got called in for the final interview on Friday, so I'm guessing it's something they are willing to work around.

My advice is to let prospective employers know ( is officiating mentioned on your resume?). Being an official shows an interviewer that you can make quick decisions, and do well in a challenging environment. These are skiils that employers can use.

Best of luck in your job search, it ain't easy..

Shav
Old Wed Mar 10, 2010, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member