The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 90
Case Book 4.15.4 situation D, Ruling (a), Violation because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand during a dribble, before it touched the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 214
correct violation per previous casebook ruling. However, I don't think I could pull that dribble move off if I tried (yes, I know by RULE i could NOT pull it off, ha ha, but you know what I'm saying)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Not where I was previously
Posts: 1,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by vbzebra View Post
correct violation per previous casebook ruling. However, I don't think I could pull that dribble move off if I tried (yes, I know by RULE i could NOT pull it off, ha ha, but you know what I'm saying)
This actually used to be a ball handling drill to work on hand speed and coordination. The drill was to dribble the ball as you normally would, then see how many times you could tap it at the height of its dribble w/out "travelling" (hey this WAS the 80's) The goal was to get the dribble lower while increasing or keeping the number of "taps" the same.
There was also a pass in the Pistol Pete video (80's!) series where he would leave the dribble up a little higher then take his hand either over the top, then back underneath, (or vice versa) then slap/pass it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gargil View Post
Case Book 4.15.4 situation D, Ruling (a), Violation because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand during a dribble, before it touched the floor.
Although this case is linked by number to rule 4-15-4, nothing in 4-15-4 supports the ruling.

The case actually involves an application of 4-15-2: "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."

The case play ruling misleadingly suggests that it is a violation to touch the ball twice before it touches the floor. No rule in the vicinity requires that, other than 4-15-2, and then only when the ball is batted UP.

Since the OP did NOT involve a player batting the ball into the air, I submit that this case play does not show that the player violated by batting the ball twice toward the floor.

Here endeth the lesson.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 12:28pm
SAJ SAJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Although this case is linked by number to rule 4-15-4, nothing in 4-15-4 supports the ruling.

The case actually involves an application of 4-15-2: "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."

The case play ruling misleadingly suggests that it is a violation to touch the ball twice before it touches the floor. No rule in the vicinity requires that, other than 4-15-2, and then only when the ball is batted UP.

Since the OP did NOT involve a player batting the ball into the air, I submit that this case play does not show that the player violated by batting the ball twice toward the floor.

Here endeth the lesson.
into the air != up
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 12:29pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
although this case is linked by number to rule 4-15-4, nothing in 4-15-4 supports the ruling.

The case actually involves an application of 4-15-2: "during a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."

the case play ruling misleadingly suggests that it is a violation to touch the ball twice before it touches the floor. No rule in the vicinity requires that, other than 4-15-2, and then only when the ball is batted up.

Since the op did not involve a player batting the ball into the air, i submit that this case play does not show that the player violated by batting the ball twice toward the floor.

Here endeth the lesson.
+1
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Although this case is linked by number to rule 4-15-4, nothing in 4-15-4 supports the ruling.

The case actually involves an application of 4-15-2: "During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s)."

The case play ruling misleadingly suggests that it is a violation to touch the ball twice before it touches the floor. No rule in the vicinity requires that, other than 4-15-2, and then only when the ball is batted UP.

Since the OP did NOT involve a player batting the ball into the air, I submit that this case play does not show that the player violated by batting the ball twice toward the floor.

Here endeth the lesson.
-1

The RULING of that case play very succintly and definitively says "Violation in (a) because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor."

Note that statement is not limited only to dribbled balls batted upwards. It covers all single dribbles, no matter what direction they were legally started. That's the intent an purpose of the rule, and the rulesmakers laid it out in very plain language in that case play.

That's exactly why we have case plays. Case plays are rules, no matter what reference might be provided at the end if them. The context is what matters. That play has been called a violation under all rule codes as long as I've been around afaik. It is universally accepted as being the correct and proper call. Nit-picking the hell out of it because of arguably vague language doesn't do any of us any favors imo. It might give the impression to a newer official reading this that it might not a violation to hit the ball in the air twice during a dribble. It is a violation and always has been a violation.

Paralysis through analysis.

Your lesson ain't a very good one imo.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Hmmm. Rethinking now.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
Not to sound too knave on this one, but a) how often has anyone seen this two-touch dribble (maybe I'm not envisioning all of its possibilities)? and b) how often have you seen it called? Not arguing any merit of the rule here.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:41pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Not to sound too naive on this one, but a) how often has anyone seen this two-touch dribble (maybe I'm not envisioning all of its possibilities)? and b) how often have you seen it called? Not arguing any merit of the rule here.
I've seen it and I've called it...and I've seen it called.....usually when a lesser-skilled player is attempting a cross-over dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
I've seen it and I've called it...and I've seen it called.....usually when a lesser-skilled player is attempting a cross-over dribble.
Could this be put into the dribble fumble dribble ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:43pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Not to sound too knave on this one,
Don't worry. You aren't too knave. This, on the other hand, may be.

__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:37pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Hmmm. Rethinking now.
Snaqs, if that exact situation came up in a state championship game that you were doing, would you ignore the double-touch because of the logic that Mike used? Or would you go with the way that it has been traditionally called?

Or...do you disagree that this play has been traditionally called a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 01:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Snaqs, if that exact situation came up in a state championship game that you were doing, would you ignore the double-touch because of the logic that Mike used? Or would you go with the way that it has been traditionally called?

Or...do you disagree that this play has been traditionally called a violation?
I've never seen it, called or no-called, so I have no opinion on how it's "traditionally" been called. I'll defer to you on that.

My initial thought was to call it a violation, but as I read the rule I questioned that based on the same thought process mbyron posted.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 09, 2010, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to jalons
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I've never seen it, called or no-called, so I have no opinion on how it's "traditionally" been called. I'll defer to you on that.

My initial thought was to call it a violation, but as I read the rule I questioned that based on the same thought process mbyron posted.

I have never called it or seen it called either. However, I would rule this a violation based on 4.15.4 Situation D, as JR has pointed out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here's one for the newbies Mark Padgett Basketball 35 Thu Jan 14, 2010 04:08pm
Newbies quiz Mark Padgett Basketball 23 Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:00pm
Another one for newbies Mark Padgett Basketball 34 Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:44am
Quiz question for newbies (and others) Mark Padgett Basketball 21 Mon Feb 23, 2009 03:17pm
Darin Hayes "Crunch Time Quiz" Question #1 karlj2 Football 10 Tue Oct 05, 2004 07:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1