![]() |
|
|||
We're discussing a specific play here. In this specific play it doesn't matter where the defender is when A1 is airborne...it matters where the defender is when A1 lands. B1 can dance an Irish jig while A1 is airborne.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
||||
Last night we had a play where the home coach wasn't pleased with the call, but I know it was the right one.
B22 goes up for a rebound. He skies, get the ball, and A4 slides just enough under him so when B22 lands he hits A4's leg (which is outside his torso) and stumbles to the floor. I immediately call a foul on A4. Coach asked how it was a foul after I reported and went tableside. Simple reply: "He's gotta let him land there." |
|
|||
Quote:
But in this specific play we don't know for sure if defender has LGP until airborne player either crashes before landing or lands before crashing.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
That wasn't what I was responding to. The thread also included comments about landing and then crashing, and you said it was impossible to establish LGP until landing. My response is specifically to that statement. |
|
|||
Quote:
The OP stated that B1 established LGP while A2 was airborne but that A2 crashed into B1 before landing. With all the back-and-forth, that very important snippet of the post was not addressed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Thanks for all the thoughts. My big concern was with time and distance. I do know that if LGP was established before A2 left the floor then caught the ball it will be a charge. If A2 lands then crashes into B1 who has established LGP then it is also a charge. The key here is gaining LGP to enforce the block charge call. I didn't know if because A2 was in the air without the ball he had the same stipulations as in a time and distance situation with someone moving without the ball. My interpretation through this process and the rule book has led me to when A2 catches the ball he is now under the same rules as a player in control of the ball and time and distance are not required.
|
|
||||
Quote:
You're right, Time and Distance aren't relevant, even if he leaves the floor without the ball, once A2 makes the catch.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block/Charge? | APG | Basketball | 122 | Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:53pm |
Block/Charge | IREFU2 | Basketball | 28 | Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
charge/block rule | toby | Basketball | 21 | Wed Apr 28, 2004 05:00pm |
Block - Charge (consider this) | footlocker | Basketball | 35 | Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm |