![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Thanks for all the thoughts. My big concern was with time and distance. I do know that if LGP was established before A2 left the floor then caught the ball it will be a charge. If A2 lands then crashes into B1 who has established LGP then it is also a charge. The key here is gaining LGP to enforce the block charge call. I didn't know if because A2 was in the air without the ball he had the same stipulations as in a time and distance situation with someone moving without the ball. My interpretation through this process and the rule book has led me to when A2 catches the ball he is now under the same rules as a player in control of the ball and time and distance are not required.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The only problem with that is that B1's position, at the time A1 jumped, may not have been LGP (not enough time/distance given the status of A1 and the ball at that moment) but only became so when A1 subsequently caught the ball. When A1 catches the ball, a postion taken by a defender that was would have been too late to have LGP on a player without the ball can become LGP. As long as B1 was simply in the spot before A1 jumps or allows room for A1 to land if the got to the spot after A1 jumped.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Block/Charge? | APG | Basketball | 122 | Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:53pm |
| Block/Charge | IREFU2 | Basketball | 28 | Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:53pm |
| Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
| charge/block rule | toby | Basketball | 21 | Wed Apr 28, 2004 05:00pm |
| Block - Charge (consider this) | footlocker | Basketball | 35 | Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm |