![]() |
|
|
|||
A2 is entirely in the Front Court when he catches the ball. The visualization of this would be a running motion across half-court, but going airborne across the midcourt line.
Last edited by trsandy; Wed Feb 10, 2010 at 09:39am. Reason: clarification |
|
|||
That answers your question.
The key here - as in most of the rules - is to not overly-complicate the situations. The pass was from a frontcourt (or backcourt - it's not entirely clear from your description if A1 had entirely entered the frontcourt before passing) player to another player in the frontcourt. As long as the ball didn't gain backcourt status at some point after gaining frontcourt status, no violation. |
|
|||
Our team was called for a back-court violation. The Referee who made the call told me that A2 had to have both feet down prior to catching the ball. I am still puzzled by this call, because, like you said, the player never established possession of the ball in backcourt.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
I'm not sure if I'm reading this correctly.
1. I can't tell where A1 was when he passed the ball. Was he in the FC or the BC? Since you said "as A1 crosses...." I'm having a hard time making that decision. 2. From your description of A2 being airborne over the division line, I have to assume he had jumped from the BC. Here's how I'm reading this play: A1 crosses the line, gains FC status, then passes the ball to A2, who is airborne after having jumped from the BC. Where he lands is irrelevant if he catches the ball in the air. This is a violation as soon as A2 touches the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
1 Foot in the frontcourt/1 foot in the air = NO VIOLATION (2 feet are NOT required...if the official explained it that way then he was wrong)
__________________
Da Official |
|
|||
points of clarification.
(1) A1 is clearly in the Front Court prior to passing the ball to A2 who is airborne over midcourt line at the time of the pass. (2) A2 clearly had no feet in or on the backcourt when he gains posession of the ball in the front court from A1. He clearly had one foot down in the Front Court when he caught the ball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Did the official actually say two feet, or did he say he had to establish himself in the frontcourt? If the latter, he may know the rule but judged A2 hadn't touched the frontcourt yet after being airborne from the backcourt. Bottom line, there are missed calls. Sorry this one appears to have gone against your team. |
|
|||
Please define airborne????
Quote:
Doesn't really affect your sitch as the calling official has clearly been plagued by the myth monster!!! Do a search within this forum for the latest basketball rules myth document. Sounds like you may need it in your games.
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Tags |
backcourt violation |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Back Court Violation? | shishstripes | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 23, 2009 05:59pm |
Back court violation | stmaryrams | Basketball | 2 | Mon Feb 20, 2006 01:38am |
yet another back court violation | sny1120 | Basketball | 3 | Sat Feb 26, 2005 05:08pm |
back court violation?? | The whistle | Basketball | 22 | Mon Feb 09, 2004 05:13am |
Back court violation? | Cyber-Ref | Basketball | 7 | Fri Jan 17, 2003 09:54am |