The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
A block, what else?
You would think that, right?
That is the call that was made.

Here is where I need help. The coach of B1 is going ape poop over the lowering of the shoulder by A1 on his move to the basket. I will say his move was hard, and aggressive, but to me it looked like he dips to absorb a blow moreso than looking to dish one out.

I need help explaining to the coach why the shoulder is the non-issue if B1 did not establish first.

Here are some comments from the "complaint" sent to me:
"I understand the nuances of the blocking foul on # 3. As I pointed out in my email, our player (#3) should have been charged with a blocking foul, as he clearly was not set prior to the contact. I was not lobbying for a "charge" either, because you can't have a charge and a blocking call symultaneously. My issue is the lowering of the shoulder and aggressive drive into the lane by the other team's player."

This is a little different than his first argument where he wanted the charge, now he is arguing that A1 should receive a foul after his player is called for the block, based on the aggressive nature of the move.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:11am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachCER View Post
You would think that, right?
That is the call that was made.

Here is where I need help. The coach of B1 is going ape poop over the lowering of the shoulder by A1 on his move to the basket. I will say his move was hard, and aggressive, but to me it looked like he dips to absorb a blow moreso than looking to dish one out.

I need help explaining to the coach why the shoulder is the non-issue if B1 did not establish first.

Here are some comments from the "complaint" sent to me:
"I understand the nuances of the blocking foul on # 3. As I pointed out in my email, our player (#3) should have been charged with a blocking foul, as he clearly was not set prior to the contact. I was not lobbying for a "charge" either, because you can't have a charge and a blocking call symultaneously. My issue is the lowering of the shoulder and aggressive drive into the lane by the other team's player."

This is a little different than his first argument where he wanted the charge, now he is arguing that A1 should receive a foul after his player is called for the block, based on the aggressive nature of the move.
Explain to the coach that basketball is a contact sport and there is some aggressiveness involved.

But, when you say B1 arrived "late", do you mean he got to the spot AFTER A1 went airborne for his shot?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:33am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Explain to the coach that basketball is a contact sport and there is some aggressiveness involved.

But, when you say B1 arrived "late", do you mean he got to the spot AFTER A1 went airborne for his shot?

Coach, you got anything on this?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Coach, you got anything on this?
Yeah b/c if he went airborne, then B1 arrived at the spot, and then A1 gave him an airborne/intentional shoulder, I'd love to see that play. We're talking Ricky "The Dragon" Steamboat now!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:42am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Yeah b/c if he went airborne, then B1 arrived at the spot, and then A1 gave him an airborne/intentional shoulder, I'd love to see that play. We're talking Ricky "The Dragon" Steamboat now!
Yep, that's the part I'm having a problem with. If B1 was late (after elevation) how/where did he take the contact from a dipped shoulder?

Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka maybe.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yep, that's the part I'm having a problem with. If B1 was late (after elevation) how/where did he take the contact from a dipped shoulder?

Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka maybe.
Could have been on a "hop" rather than airborne to shoot. A1 was going to return to the ground before going up for the shot.

At least, that's the way I envisioned it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
Could have been on a "hop" rather than airborne to shoot. A1 was going to return to the ground before going up for the shot.

At least, that's the way I envisioned it.
Kind of the opposite. He did a hop/jump stop, and was exploding out of it to the goal. He was in the lane, maybe 8' from the basket.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yep, that's the part I'm having a problem with. If B1 was late (after elevation) how/where did he take the contact from a dipped shoulder?

Jimmy "Superfly" Snuka maybe.
The shoulder wasn't dipped when contact was made, but was dipped as he started the move, which is what caught Coach b's attention.

Think of A1 coming to a jump stop. As he gathers himself, he drops his shoulder. He jumps out and up, and brings his shoulder through and up as he brings the ball to the basket in an ugly shooting motion for a lay up.

As he moves out and is bringing the shoulder up, B1 slides right into his space, and receives the hit from the shoulder as A1 is bringing his upper body up to the goal. B1 was leaning back as he slid under A1, getting his lower body closer to b1, and his upper body farther back, which is where the contact occurred as A1 did his out and up move.

As I said, this was one of those ugly sequences that seems to occur only in bad rec ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Coach, you got anything on this?
My take was that A1 started his move to the basket and had left his feet before B1 slid in. I said earlier B1 slid under, because B1 came into the play leaning back trying to pick up the charge late.

I do appreciate all of the feedback I am getting from this, and it will help me explain this better to the coach.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
It sounds to me that the coach is associating degree of contact with culpabilty, which of course is wrong. A1 airborne on a drive, B1 slides underneath and is flattened along with a blocking call, would be an analogy to tell your coach.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachCER View Post
This is a little different than his first argument where he wanted the charge, now he is arguing that A1 should receive a foul after his player is called for the block, based on the aggressive nature of the move.
No. If the shooter is being aggressive toward the basket, there's no grounds for calling a foul on him in this situation.

If the shooter had been aggressive toward the defender, then we could talk about that. If the coach wants the charge called, tell him to get his player into LGP before the shot.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachCER View Post
You would think that, right?
That is the call that was made.

Here is where I need help. The coach of B1 is going ape poop over the lowering of the shoulder by A1 on his move to the basket. I will say his move was hard, and aggressive, but to me it looked like he dips to absorb a blow moreso than looking to dish one out.

I need help explaining to the coach why the shoulder is the non-issue if B1 did not establish first.

Here are some comments from the "complaint" sent to me:
"I understand the nuances of the blocking foul on # 3. As I pointed out in my email, our player (#3) should have been charged with a blocking foul, as he clearly was not set prior to the contact. I was not lobbying for a "charge" either, because you can't have a charge and a blocking call symultaneously. My issue is the lowering of the shoulder and aggressive drive into the lane by the other team's player."

This is a little different than his first argument where he wanted the charge, now he is arguing that A1 should receive a foul after his player is called for the block, based on the aggressive nature of the move.
It sounds to me like he's asking for (or about) a double foul, one half of which is intentional or flagrant based on A1's actions.

Take a similar play where B1 gets to the spot late, but A1 punches B1 as part of the move.

It's unlikely that happened based just on the "lowering of the shoulder", but it's possible.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It sounds to me like he's asking for (or about) a double foul, one half of which is intentional or flagrant based on A1's actions.

Take a similar play where B1 gets to the spot late, but A1 punches B1 as part of the move.

It's unlikely that happened based just on the "lowering of the shoulder", but it's possible.
I think that is what he is pushing for here.

Talking in hypotheticals, what kind of action with the shoulder would you need to see to come up with an intentional/flagrant on A1?
What if he saw the defender stepping and lowered his shoulder just before contact?
I don't think that happened here, as this player dips his shoulder a lot on drives to the basket, even when not in traffic.

My assistant director was sitting with me, and his take was A1 dips to absorb contact. I personally think he does it out of instinct for no particular reason.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachCER View Post
I think that is what he is pushing for here.

Talking in hypotheticals, what kind of action with the shoulder would you need to see to come up with an intentional/flagrant on A1?
What if he saw the defender stepping and lowered his shoulder just before contact?
I don't think that happened here, as this player dips his shoulder a lot on drives to the basket, even when not in traffic.

My assistant director was sitting with me, and his take was A1 dips to absorb contact. I personally think he does it out of instinct for no particular reason.
It's complete judgement, but there would have to be specific intent to cause contact with the shoulder - not in a way to absorb or brace for contact, but in a way to attempt to increase contact/punish the defender. In other words a clearly intentional act for the sake of delivering a blow.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 09, 2010, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachCER View Post
I think that is what he is pushing for here.

Talking in hypotheticals, what kind of action with the shoulder would you need to see to come up with an intentional/flagrant on A1?
The rules don't prohibit dipping the shoulder or aggressive moves as such.

Any part of the body might be used to cause excessive contact (intentional foul) or contact intended to injure (one type of flagrant foul). So those are what I'd look for -- not the shoulder specifically -- to call those types of foul.

A simple PC foul is more likely, as it's uncommon to cause excessive or flagrant contact with the shoulder.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
block/charge oc Basketball 19 Wed Oct 07, 2009 09:29pm
Block/Charge? APG Basketball 122 Fri Jun 15, 2007 01:53pm
Block Charge TRef21 Basketball 29 Wed Apr 04, 2007 02:39pm
Block/Charge jcash Basketball 55 Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm
Block or Charge? canuckrefguy Basketball 18 Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1