![]() |
|
|
|||
4-23?
ART. 3 . . . After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status. b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent. c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane. e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact. f. The guard may be lying on the floor after having obtained legal guarding position. ![]() Am I correct in maintaining that without something like "f" above (which doesn't exist), lying on the floor does not constitute LGP? This occurred last night in a GV I was observing: Defender B1 picked up her fifth foul being the one on the floor over which rebounder A1 tripped backwards. The lack of clarity on this exact situation is what led the official to call a blocking foul on B1 and the defender's coach to contest the call. I'd appreciate further clarification on this, especially the foundational phraseology in the rules or casebook or vanished interps which would expect a travelling violation on A1. When it happens, I wanna get it right. Thanx! |
|
|||
Quote:
Forget LGP; it isn't relevant in this situation. The cite above is. Hope that helps.... |
|
|||
ok, i'm confused, so I'll play devil's advocate for a minute...
A1 is dribbling up the floor and say for the sake of argument, B1 is lying totally still on the floor (or on all 4's, barking like a dog from way back in the day ![]() With B1 lying perfectly still, A1 dribbles and trips over him/her and falls, this would still NOT be a foul on B1? I know LGP is two feet on the floor, torso facing opponent, but I also understand everyone being entitled to their spot on the floor... I actually had a rebound situation last year happen to me...B1 falls on the floor, A1 gets rebound and turns to go upcourt, trips over B1, falls, I call block (now granted, B1 WAS moving around like a turtle that got flipped on its back, so B1 was NOT totally stationary, which made it easy). I'm not trying to be a smart@$$, I'm just really trying to understand this. I know if there is even a LITTLE movement by floor-ridden B1, we've got a block. Just trying to grasp the other side of it. sorry ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
He doesn't even have to be still. B1 falls to the floor. He rolls away from A1 as he attempts to get up. A1 runs over him. This is not a foul on B1.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Depends. B1 is now a moving player without LGP, so depending on how contact happens, it may or may not be a foul on B1.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Note the italicized word. If B1 is moving away from A1, no foul on B1.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
4-40-4 Last edited by RookieDude; Mon Nov 14, 2011 at 12:20am. |
|
|||
Note sure I'd call it a screen when it is B1...but a block for sure. Screening is typically an action performed by team A.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Legal Guarding Position | johnsatchmo | Basketball | 3 | Tue Jan 18, 2005 08:32am |
LEGAL GUARDING POSITION | shont | Basketball | 17 | Tue Dec 21, 2004 09:53pm |
Legal guarding position | tjchamp | Basketball | 87 | Thu Apr 29, 2004 08:53pm |
legal guarding position | John Schaefferkoetter | Basketball | 28 | Sat Nov 08, 2003 10:14pm |
Player Location/Status and Legal Guarding position | Jeremy Hohn | Basketball | 11 | Fri Feb 07, 2003 12:07pm |