![]() |
|
|
|||
Timeout Mechanics
What do you guys do for a 30 sec and Full Time-outs?
Does the official administering the throw in stay at the throw in spot while his partner is mid court or on lower block? Or do you guys put the ball down on the floor where it will be thrown in and go and stand with your partner at the designated spots? Thanks PS: I go with the latter |
|
|||
Really? The only proper mechanic I remember is 30 seconds your between center circle and three point line, and then farther (from tableside) lower block for 60 sec.
My mistake is probably not stating for 2 man mechanics, were you answering for 3 man crew? |
|
||||
There was a two man change within the past year or so. They used to be on the blocks like three man, but now it's been changed to something much more intuitive. Administering official takes it and stands at or near the spot ("near" if the spot is at either of the benches), the other official stands on the division line.
There is no switch on TOs; meaning the calling official may or may not administer the throw in. Note: this is per mechanics (subject to correction from Nevadaref). Check local listings, as some areas may have the non-calling official administer the throw in.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
In Ontario, this is what our Provincial Interpreter has decided and it makes sense to me.
Further to what is provided in the Federation Manual, the official who calls the time out will report the time out. The other official will be at the point of the throw in with the ball. If the throw in is in front of the team bench, the official will be out on the floor, in line with the reporting official, as has been done in the past. At the conclusion of the time out, the official who is at the point of the throw in, will administer the throw in. The official who was at the table will move into the proper position to cover the throw in. This may necessitate a switch from the positions the officials were in, prior to the time out being called. |
|
||||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
NFHS mechanic: The official who will go to the throw-in spot is determined as if a defensive violation occured at the spot of the ball. It doesn't matter who grants the timeout. If the post-timeout throwin is on the FC endline or the pre-timeout lead's FC sideline, the pre-timeout lead will be the one marking the spot. Otherwise, the pre-timeout trail will be marking the spot. The official not marking the spot goes to the division line. If the throw-in spot is above the FT line extended but still in the frontcourt on the pre-timeout lead's side, it will casue a switch....the same as if a violation had occurred in the same area.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Timeout or not | Mike51 | Basketball | 18 | Tue Feb 24, 2009 09:32pm |
NCAA Mechanics, NFHS Rules/Mechanics | InvisibleRef | Basketball | 4 | Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06am |
mechanics for Timeout(Sub's only) | Teddly | Basketball | 7 | Wed Dec 25, 2002 02:19pm |
Timeout??? | Bchill24 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Dec 25, 2001 12:34am |
Timeout | Rookie | Basketball | 17 | Wed Dec 12, 2001 04:44am |