The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 73
Technical or violation: Throw-in

This play occurred in the game before mine this past weekend. I know this is a violation and possibly a tech-foul, but I would like some opinions. (GJV)Team B scores a basket and there’s a press on by team B. Player A-1 breaks free sprinting to the basket about ½ court with no one guarding her. Long baseball pass she runs to it, and Team A scores easy lay-up. Below is why A-1 was open.
A-1 is at the far corner retrieving the ball (where it rolled). The L is facing the table (opposite) his back to that corner. A-1 is out of bounds behind the end- line near the far side line. A-1 then throws the ball to A-5 who is out of bounds near the basket for the throw-in. L watches the throw to A-5 then turns his back to A-1. A-1 then sprints down the court out of bounds on the far sideline and returns to the court at the about 28’ mark, A-1 is wide open, pass is thrown, EZ lay-up. The officials (2-man) missed A-1 sprinting out of bounds. She never came inbounds after throwing the pass to A-5. The T was division line table side. He would be facing A-1 running on the opposite side of the court. There was a great deal of screening/ bumping to occupy the officials on the throw-in. The reason for my post is I am wonder what the call should be if the officials had seen this?

At first I would have thought violation 9-3-3, and probably called it, but the more I think about it the more I am thinking Technical.
9-3-3, ART. 3 . . . "leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason",
The more I look at it I am thinking it should be a technical foul:
10-3-2, ART. 2 . . . Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds. “It was definitely deceitful.”
10.3.2 is very similar to this play: RULING:" A1 is charged with a technical foul for purposefully ...delaying her return to the court following the throw-in.
A1’s movement out of bounds along the end line was to take advantage of the screen and return to the court in a more advantageous position."
I know from reading past posts here this is one of the rules that might need to be changed from technical to a violation. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:24pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrcrash3 View Post
9-3-3, ART. 3 . . . "leaving the floor for an unauthorized reason",
The more I look at it I am thinking it should be a technical foul:
10-3-2, ART. 2 . . . Purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds. “It was definitely deceitful.”
It's not 9-3-3 because she never "left" the court. It certainly sounds like 10-3-2, however.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 73
Mark, I agree. She did leave the court orignally for an authorized reason gather the ball for a throw-in.
(the layup sent the game into OT, Nah )
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,078
A1 was OOB along the endline (near the corner) when this started. Are you sure A1 didn't cut the corner even just a little? That would briefly put A1 inbounds and allow the violation call for leaving the court.

Also, A1's position was legally OOB on the endline. There was no authorized reason to be OOB on the sideline. I'd be inclined argue (philosophically, not necessarily by the letter of the rule) that the two areas were distinct as she went from OOB/endline (for an authorized reason) to OOB/sideline and that A1 left an authorized area to an unauthorized area.

Stll, I think the T is probably the right call as this appears the be a deliberate and decpetive use of the OOB area.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Did the Trail have any idea this happened??
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1 was OOB along the endline (near the corner) when this started. Are you sure A1 didn't cut the corner even just a little? That would briefly put A1 inbounds and allow the violation call for leaving the court.

Also, A1's position was legally OOB on the endline. There was no authorized reason to be OOB on the sideline. I'd be inclined argue (philosophically, not necessarily by the letter of the rule) that the two areas were distinct as she went from OOB/endline (for an authorized reason) to OOB/sideline and that A1 left an authorized area to an unauthorized area.

Stll, I think the T is probably the right call as this appears the be a deliberate and decpetive use of the OOB area.
I see your position on this and I tend to agree. Where I was sitting I don't know if she cut the corner or ran all the way down OOB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Did the Trail have any idea this happened??
CD it didn't appear he observe this he was watching action in front of him.
He did look up when the break away occurred to officiate the shot.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in after technical Vinski Basketball 5 Tue Mar 27, 2007 03:07pm
Technical or Violation if djpriceii Basketball 20 Thu Nov 30, 2006 04:21pm
Violation or Technical BamaRef Basketball 4 Thu Feb 10, 2005 03:11pm
Technical Violation during Pinning Combo Rookie7 Wrestling 6 Thu Jan 20, 2005 07:10pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1