The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
A1 was OOB along the endline (near the corner) when this started. Are you sure A1 didn't cut the corner even just a little? That would briefly put A1 inbounds and allow the violation call for leaving the court.

Also, A1's position was legally OOB on the endline. There was no authorized reason to be OOB on the sideline. I'd be inclined argue (philosophically, not necessarily by the letter of the rule) that the two areas were distinct as she went from OOB/endline (for an authorized reason) to OOB/sideline and that A1 left an authorized area to an unauthorized area.

Stll, I think the T is probably the right call as this appears the be a deliberate and decpetive use of the OOB area.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 266
Did the Trail have any idea this happened??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDurham View Post
Did the Trail have any idea this happened??
CD it didn't appear he observe this he was watching action in front of him.
He did look up when the break away occurred to officiate the shot.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 06:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
A1 was OOB along the endline (near the corner) when this started. Are you sure A1 didn't cut the corner even just a little? That would briefly put A1 inbounds and allow the violation call for leaving the court.

Also, A1's position was legally OOB on the endline. There was no authorized reason to be OOB on the sideline. I'd be inclined argue (philosophically, not necessarily by the letter of the rule) that the two areas were distinct as she went from OOB/endline (for an authorized reason) to OOB/sideline and that A1 left an authorized area to an unauthorized area.

Stll, I think the T is probably the right call as this appears the be a deliberate and decpetive use of the OOB area.
I see your position on this and I tend to agree. Where I was sitting I don't know if she cut the corner or ran all the way down OOB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw-in after technical Vinski Basketball 5 Tue Mar 27, 2007 03:07pm
Technical or Violation if djpriceii Basketball 20 Thu Nov 30, 2006 04:21pm
Violation or Technical BamaRef Basketball 4 Thu Feb 10, 2005 03:11pm
Technical Violation during Pinning Combo Rookie7 Wrestling 6 Thu Jan 20, 2005 07:10pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1