The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
FT Violation?

A1 is shooting a FT. She receives the ball from the official. Her pre-shot process includes taking her front foot and placing it on the FT line and then sliding it back behind the FT line. She then takes a dribble and shoots.

I did not call a violation since her foot was behind the FT line when she actually shot the ball. As I look through the rule book all I see is 9-1-1 that says "the try shall be attempted from within the FT semicircle and behind the FT line."

So, is placing the foot on the line and then putting it behind the line (after the ball is live) prior to shooting the FT a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A1 is shooting a FT. She receives the ball from the official. Her pre-shot process includes taking her front foot and placing it on the FT line and then sliding it back behind the FT line. She then takes a dribble and shoots.

I did not call a violation since her foot was behind the FT line when she actually shot the ball. As I look through the rule book all I see is 9-1-1 that says "the try shall be attempted from within the FT semicircle and behind the FT line."

So, is placing the foot on the line and then putting it behind the line (after the ball is live) prior to shooting the FT a violation?
Yep, violation per 9-1-3e.
"After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:..."
"The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the
edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket
or the free throw
semicircle line."

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Feb 02, 2010 at 09:42am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 09:41am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
...

So, is placing the foot on the line and then putting it behind the line (after the ball is live) prior to shooting the FT a violation?
Technically, yes.

Career-development wise, no.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Technically, yes.

Career-development wise, no.
So in the interest of advancing your officiating career, do you also allow the thrower to put a toe just over the boundary line after you hand him the ball for a throw-in as long as he backs up before making the pass?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 09:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yep, violation per 9-1-3e.
"After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:..."
"The free thrower shall not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the
edge of the free-throw line which is farther from the basket
or the free throw
semicircle line."
Thanks. I read that initially but for some reason didn't interpret it correctly.

Now I know.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:15am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
So in the interest of advancing your officiating career, do you also allow the thrower to put a toe just over the boundary line after you hand him the ball for a throw-in as long as he backs up before making the pass?
And how many times have you called a violation when a free-thrower initially put their toe on the line then pulled it back as part of their pre-shot routine?

And don't tell me you've never seen a thrower do it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:46am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A1 is shooting a FT. She receives the ball from the official. Her pre-shot process includes taking her front foot and placing it on the FT line and then sliding it back behind the FT line. She then takes a dribble and shoots.
Whisper in her ear that it might be a good idea to change her pre-shot process...before she hears a whistle blowing in her ear.

As usual, one warning per customer.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:47am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
So in the interest of advancing your officiating career, do you also allow the thrower to put a toe just over the boundary line after you hand him the ball for a throw-in as long as he backs up before making the pass?
I really like oranges. I don't like apples.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 10:48am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
So in the interest of advancing your officiating career, do you also allow the thrower to put a toe just over the boundary line after you hand him the ball for a throw-in as long as he backs up before making the pass?
Nope, but I will allow a FT shooter to put a toe on the line once.

But that's just me......
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 109
I had this situation:

Two shots for A1. Before first shot AI is standing outside of the circle as I am ready to administer. I say "shooter, stay in the circle" and he more or less ignores me and takes the bounce pass with both feet on the line. I look at partner who gives me a kind of "so what" look back.

After first shot, A1 backs out of circle again and I tell him once again, "shooter, stay in the circle". He once again ignores me, so I bounce the ball to him and he gets the ball with both feet outside the circle. I blow the whistle and considered giving him the "T', but instead called the violation.

A1's coach understood fully what happened and every A player the rest of the night was in the circle and ready to get the ball. BTW, the B coach never asked what the call was.

Would you have given the "T"; I second guessed myself and my partner thought the violation call was sufficient.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:07am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Whisper in her ear that it might be a good idea to change her pre-shot process...before she hears a whistle blowing in her ear.

As usual, one warning per customer.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Nope, but I will allow a FT shooter to put a toe on the line once.

But that's just me......
I could have (could of/coulda) typed this earlier but I was more interested in riling up Nevada.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
I really like oranges. I don't like apples.
I prefer Apples.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:08am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
Would you have given the "T"; I second guessed myself and my partner thought the violation call was sufficient.
No, the penalty is a violation.

The coach will do his job...and did.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:10am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I could have (could of/coulda) typed this earlier but I was more interested in riling up Nevada.
Well, that certainly doesn't make you a bad person.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post
I had this situation:

Two shots for A1. Before first shot AI is standing outside of the circle as I am ready to administer. I say "shooter, stay in the circle" and he more or less ignores me and takes the bounce pass with both feet on the line. I look at partner who gives me a kind of "so what" look back.

After first shot, A1 backs out of circle again and I tell him once again, "shooter, stay in the circle". He once again ignores me, so I bounce the ball to him and he gets the ball with both feet outside the circle. I blow the whistle and considered giving him the "T', but instead called the violation.

A1's coach understood fully what happened and every A player the rest of the night was in the circle and ready to get the ball. BTW, the B coach never asked what the call was.

Would you have given the "T"; I second guessed myself and my partner thought the violation call was sufficient.
Ask yourself this instead, what would the 'T' have been for?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 02, 2010, 11:26am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,729
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh View Post

After first shot, A1 backs out of circle again and I tell him once again, "shooter, stay in the circle". He once again ignores me, so I bounce the ball to him and he gets the ball with both feet outside the circle. I blow the whistle and considered giving him the "T', but instead called the violation.
I do not bounce until the shooter is in the circle. Tell him to get in the circle and if he refuses, then make clear that not complying could cause a technical foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
FT Violation? Troward Basketball 15 Fri Dec 13, 2002 04:49am
FT Violation jshock Basketball 13 Sun Nov 18, 2001 10:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1