The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 846
Varsity Questions

It will be a long while before I work Varsity games, but I was at a game last night, took some notes and have a few questions.

1. Grabbing the net while the ball is in the cylinder. I know it's basket interference, but I thought I saw somewhere on here that it's also a technical. Any truth to that?

2. At the end of one of the quarters, the C took last shot responsibilities. In two-man we're taught that the trail always has last shot. Is this true for two man? Wouldn't the C be watching his primary, which probably isn't where the last shot will occur?

3. Cheerleader disconcertion...is there a rule against it?

Thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 11:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 846
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
1. Not BI. Touching the net constitutes BI only if the ball is ON or IN the basket. Not a T.

2. T has last shot in 2-person; opposite has it for 3-person.

3. The case plays all involve disconcertion by an opponent, but some here will defend calling this violation.
By opposite, do you mean opposite the table?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 11:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
It will be a long while before I work Varsity games, but I was at a game last night, took some notes and have a few questions.

1. Grabbing the net while the ball is in the cylinder. I know it's basket interference, but I thought I saw somewhere on here that it's also a technical. Any truth to that?

2. At the end of one of the quarters, the C took last shot responsibilities. In two-man we're taught that the trail always has last shot. Is this true for two man? Wouldn't the C be watching his primary, which probably isn't where the last shot will occur?

3. Cheerleader disconcertion...is there a rule against it?

Thanks...
1. Not BI. Touching the net constitutes BI only if the ball is ON or IN the basket. Don't confuse 4-6-1 with 4-6-2. Not a T.

2. T has last shot in 2-person; opposite has it for 3-person.

3. The case plays all involve disconcertion by an opponent, but some here will defend calling this violation, or at least addressing the situation with game management.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
By opposite, do you mean opposite the table?
Yes. That's why C had last shot in the game you saw: he must have been opposite the table.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 11:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
By opposite, do you mean opposite the table?
Correct. Trail or Center, opposite table.

In NCAA-W that responsibility is always the Center's.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Yes. That's why C had last shot in the game you saw: he must have been opposite the table.
Would there ever be a time when the L (3-person crew) would have the last shot?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 01:17pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by iiicream View Post
Would there ever be a time when the L (3-person crew) would have the last shot?
Yes, on a fast break with the C still in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 02:10pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Yes, on a fast break with the C still in the backcourt.
Not unless you discuss this. And it is not impossible for the C or even the T in the right circumstance to see a last second shot. This is almost always the case they show an angle on TV that is on the other side of the court. Not sure why an official cannot see this play even far away.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Varsity HL bbcof83 Football 29 Wed Sep 16, 2009 01:25pm
HS Varsity dan74 Basketball 29 Tue Dec 11, 2007 03:49pm
First varsity three man... Scatmaster Basketball 5 Sun Jan 21, 2007 12:20pm
FED, JV and Varsity DaveASA/FED Basketball 8 Thu Dec 14, 2006 10:26am
Questions for Varsity coaches johnfox Basketball 9 Sat Jan 13, 2001 11:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1