The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 03:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 39
Peace of mind: Did I get it right?

Reffed a Rec League game tonight. At the end of the first half, A1 was fouled by B2 on a 3-point attempt. The foul occurred just before the buzzer, but the ball did not leave A1's hand until after the buzzer. I gave A1 3 freethrows with an empty lane. Did I get it right?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 04:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Yes. In that situation, the try doesn't count even if it goes in.

The ball becomes dead when the horn sounds as there is no try in flight at that time.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 09:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Disagree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Yes. In that situation, the try doesn't count even if it goes in.

The ball becomes dead when the horn sounds as there is no try in flight at that time.
How's he not in the act of shooting? If you can award him three for the missed shot (because he was fouled), you better award him three plus one if he makes the shot.....
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 09:36am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
How's he not in the act of shooting? If you can award him three for the missed shot (because he was fouled), you better award him three plus one if he makes the shot.....
Did you read the post? The shot was not released until after the buzzer. Unless you're using a monitor, which I'm thinking the OP wasn't, you can't award the basket....or if you have DEFINITE knowledge of the exact reading on the clock when the whistle sounded. In which case you would have to put that time back on the clock for the free throw(s).
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jan 29, 2010 at 11:13am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 09:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 109
Apologies!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Did you read the post? The shot was not released until after the buzzer. Unless you using a monitor, which I'm thinking the OP wasn't, you can't award the basket....or if you have DEFINITE knowledge of the exact reading on the clock when the whistle sounded. In which case you would have to put that time back on the clock for the free throw(s).
Apologies to Nevada! Thanks BadNewsRef for the "head slap!" I had a mental block there....of course, he has to beat the buzzer! My bad!!!!
__________________
I love to mate.....Chess, The Kings Game
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 01:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarecrow View Post
How's he not in the act of shooting? If you can award him three for the missed shot (because he was fouled), you better award him three plus one if he makes the shot.....
There are other situations where you could award three shots because he was fouled while shooting yet wipe away a made basket. End of quarter isn't the only one.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 29, 2010, 04:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
There are other situations where you could award three shots because he was fouled while shooting yet wipe away a made basket. End of quarter isn't the only one.
You're such a tease.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 12:10am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're such a tease.
I'm not sure I've ever been told that before.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 12:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
You're such a tease.
We already have a thread on how many Ts an official has called.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 30, 2010, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
We already have a thread on how many Ts an official has called.
Bob, I'm disappointed. I had no idea you were homophonic.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mind your own business? just another ref Basketball 122 Mon Jan 05, 2009 08:02pm
Peace on Earth James Neil Football 0 Sat Dec 24, 2005 11:03pm
Mind if I lurk? LarryS Basketball 6 Thu Nov 04, 2004 07:13am
Am I losing my mind? Mark Dexter Basketball 9 Sun Nov 18, 2001 08:55pm
In the interest of peace & harmony Ump20 Baseball 3 Sun Mar 18, 2001 07:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1