The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
Not looking at a rule here, but just thinking.....This is not a correctable error, and while giving bad information makes the officials "look" bad, shouldn't the basket count? How do you wave it off, according to the rules (and not just wanting to correct "my bad")? I don't have heart burn with the OP, but it doesn't seem to mesh with the rules....
Case Book 8.6.1 is this exact situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 01:20am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Case Book 8.6.1 is this exact situation.
No it's not, because in the case play the officials blow the play dead before the rebounder does anything with the ball.

The only precedent for canceling a score made due to a missed call is a throw-in violation following a score.

This needs to be blown dead immediately to avoid this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 01:50am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No it's not, because in the case play the officials blow the play dead before the rebounder does anything with the ball.

The only precedent for canceling a score made due to a missed call is a throw-in violation following a score.

This needs to be blown dead immediately to avoid this.
Haven't we debated this very thing before?

Another one of them Nevada things, maybe?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 01:52am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Haven't we debated this very thing before?

Another one of them Nevada things, maybe?
Yes.
I'm not so sure he was alone on this one. He had a point, IMO.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 02:01am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Yes.
I'm not so sure he was alone on this one. He had a point, IMO.
My recollection is that he said the basket would count if it is before the whistle, and pretty much everybody else said "Horsefeathers!" or something similar.

I'm with pretty much everybody else.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 09:23am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
My recollection is that he said the basket would count if it is before the whistle, and pretty much everybody else said "Horsefeathers!" or something similar.

I'm with pretty much everybody else.
The question is whether the ball became dead. If the officials declares "two shots," then the ball is dead when the try is over, so the basket wouldn't count. The only exception is if the official is wrong and all the players go for the rebound.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The question is whether the ball became dead. If the officials declares "two shots," then the ball is dead when the try is over, so the basket wouldn't count. The only exception is if the official is wrong and all the players go for the rebound.
I like this reasoning.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 10:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No it's not, because in the case play the officials blow the play dead before the rebounder does anything with the ball.
I agree it's not the exact case due to the reason you have stated.

But what is the difference between a late whistle and this scenario. I know one difference is a violation versus a mistake by the officials. But 8.6.1 gives us a definite time when we are to blow the play dead (when one team is at an obvious disadvantage due to our misinforming players.) If we fail to whistle before a quick put back, I think it is well within the rules to whistle late and follow the case book play 8.6.1.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 10:58am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
I agree it's not the exact case due to the reason you have stated.

But what is the difference between a late whistle and this scenario. I know one difference is a violation versus a mistake by the officials. But 8.6.1 gives us a definite time when we are to blow the play dead (when one team is at an obvious disadvantage due to our misinforming players.) If we fail to whistle before a quick put back, I think it is well within the rules to whistle late and follow the case book play 8.6.1.
The things that cause the ball to become dead do not apply to this situation. A violation, foul (with some exceptions), or official's whistle. If you determine the ball is live when the rebounder shoots it, and the shot is released before you kill it, then by rule, you have a live ball going through the basket. CE rules specifically state all points scored will stand, with exceptions that also don't apply.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 28, 2010, 11:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The things that cause the ball to become dead do not apply to this situation. A violation, foul (with some exceptions), or official's whistle. If you determine the ball is live when the rebounder shoots it, and the shot is released before you kill it, then by rule, you have a live ball going through the basket. CE rules specifically state all points scored will stand, with exceptions that also don't apply.
The points in this thread are a lot like the points being made in the "timeout - IW" thread. I am reading them both with interest.

I agree with all the reasons that the ball is not dead. But I also know what I am going to call in this sitch. Therefore, I will use your reasoning; the ball is dead when the try ends, unless the exception applies.

Now all I have to do is get the time lag on the "timeout-IW" wrapped up. But thats the other thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why are intentional fouls (2 shots & possession) rarely called in youth games. agelof Basketball 16 Wed Jan 27, 2010 05:40pm
How many Shots? WLMinWA Basketball 14 Sat Jan 31, 2009 08:08am
One shot, two shots or three shots. wbrown Basketball 14 Mon Jan 26, 2009 09:42am
What they want called, and what is called (Strike Zone again!) FUBLUE Softball 30 Tue May 13, 2008 05:14am
HOW MANY SHOTS rburn22281 Basketball 22 Tue May 14, 2002 12:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1