The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Except he's not holding or dribbling
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:13pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Except he's not holding or dribbling
Rule 4:
ART. 3 . . . The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.
ART. 4 . . . The throw-in count ends when the ball is released by the thrower so the passed ball goes directly into the court.
Would it contribute to the discussion to mention that once the ball is put at the disposal of the thrower, it's technically in his possession until he releases the ball to go into the court?
Anything the defense does to make contact with the ball while on the other side of the line between those two points of time would seem to justify a T, it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
T
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:32pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Guys - does this help? I'm sure we would all agree that if B1 reached over the line while A1 was "dribbling" and fouled him, we would call it intentional. Should the same "reasoning" apply to the T for hitting the ball?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 06:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Guys - does this help? I'm sure we would all agree that if B1 reached over the line while A1 was "dribbling" and fouled him, we would call it intentional. Should the same "reasoning" apply to the T for hitting the ball?
Here's how I have it in my mind:
reach through plane and no contact on thrower or ball-->DOG
reach through plane and hit ball, whether its in the throwers hand or not-->T and first DOG
reach through plane and hit thrower-->IF, and first DOG

Something seems amiss, fire away.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 06:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vermont
Posts: 96
Except if A1 releases the ball on a throw-in pass; B1 then has no restrictions. 9-2-10
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 07:08pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Lightbulb

Maybe the definitive argument would be it's a T because it's really the same as if B1 reached across and hit a pass from A1 to A2, who were both OOB following a basket by team B. In that case, the ball isn't in A1's hands and if he's "dribbling", it's just as legal for him to do that as if he's passing OOB to A2.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
T
Well Said. +1

For the age group however, I would use common sense and tell the player not to do that and if he were to do that in a JV or Varsity game, he would most likely get a Technical. At least if I was doing the game.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
THere's a case play where A doesn't come out of a huddle after a TO. The official puts the ball on the floor. B crosses the line.

Ruling: B gets a DOG warning, and not a T, but only because A NEVER had the ball.

I read that as, if A EVER has the ball, then it's a T.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 08:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 718
What he said ^^^^^^^^

He's a very smart guy.
__________________
"I'll talk to the organ grinder, but NOT the monkey."

--- Famous Cleveland area official to HC

"I Love Officiating so much, I do it for free. However, I charge for all the crap I take."

--- Me
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 09:30pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Ignats' Motto

Watched a coupla middle school girls games tonight just for fun. At halftime one of our fine officials on the crew mentioned he was having to expend some effort to explain to the head coach why he couldn't grant her assistant's request for a timeout. I told him to tell the head coach, "Look, I'll listen to the organ grinder, but not the monkey."
Not an exact quote, but they were still laughing minutes later when administering the OOB to start the third quarter!
Thanx, Ignats.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
44 years later... Rich Baseball 50 Wed Jun 24, 2009 05:51pm
20 years! Adam Basketball 16 Wed Feb 06, 2008 07:47pm
Been Out 6 Years tzme415 Softball 5 Thu Mar 31, 2005 08:46pm
After all these years - a first! Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Thu Feb 17, 2005 08:35am
18 Years and another First NCAAREF Basketball 19 Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1