The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Based on what?

Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?

Once A has the ball, they "posess" it until it's released on an inbounds pass.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?

Once A has the ball, they "posess" it until it's released on an inbounds pass.
What if A1 fumbles the ball on the out of bounds side, then B1 reaches over and touches the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:14pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
What if A1 fumbles the ball on the out of bounds side, then B1 reaches over and touches the ball?
I would still consider him to be in possession.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?
No, because if they bat the ball away, I'm blowing my whistle for a DOG warning, so that's not an issue.

We can argue about the semantics of "possession" in this instance, but either way, I'm not calling a T in Mark's OP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?

Once A has the ball, they "possess" it until it's released on an inbounds pass.
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Except he's not holding or dribbling
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:13pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Except he's not holding or dribbling
Rule 4:
ART. 3 . . . The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.
ART. 4 . . . The throw-in count ends when the ball is released by the thrower so the passed ball goes directly into the court.
Would it contribute to the discussion to mention that once the ball is put at the disposal of the thrower, it's technically in his possession until he releases the ball to go into the court?
Anything the defense does to make contact with the ball while on the other side of the line between those two points of time would seem to justify a T, it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
T
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:32pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Guys - does this help? I'm sure we would all agree that if B1 reached over the line while A1 was "dribbling" and fouled him, we would call it intentional. Should the same "reasoning" apply to the T for hitting the ball?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 06:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Guys - does this help? I'm sure we would all agree that if B1 reached over the line while A1 was "dribbling" and fouled him, we would call it intentional. Should the same "reasoning" apply to the T for hitting the ball?
Here's how I have it in my mind:
reach through plane and no contact on thrower or ball-->DOG
reach through plane and hit ball, whether its in the throwers hand or not-->T and first DOG
reach through plane and hit thrower-->IF, and first DOG

Something seems amiss, fire away.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
T
Well Said. +1

For the age group however, I would use common sense and tell the player not to do that and if he were to do that in a JV or Varsity game, he would most likely get a Technical. At least if I was doing the game.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
THere's a case play where A doesn't come out of a huddle after a TO. The official puts the ball on the floor. B crosses the line.

Ruling: B gets a DOG warning, and not a T, but only because A NEVER had the ball.

I read that as, if A EVER has the ball, then it's a T.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Except the rules explicitly say that there is no player control on a throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 06:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Except the rules explicitly say that there is no player control on a throw in.
It doesn't mean you can't use the precedent to make a ruling on a play not specifically covered by the rules.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 07:32pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Except the rules explicitly say that there is no player control on a throw in.

Player control has nothing to do with this play.

The rule on this play makes no mention of player control.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
44 years later... Rich Baseball 50 Wed Jun 24, 2009 05:51pm
20 years! Adam Basketball 16 Wed Feb 06, 2008 07:47pm
Been Out 6 Years tzme415 Softball 5 Thu Mar 31, 2005 08:46pm
After all these years - a first! Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Thu Feb 17, 2005 08:35am
18 Years and another First NCAAREF Basketball 19 Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1