The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 02:50pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation After all these years - a first!

As you know, my experience goes back to the Naismith days but I had a situation in last night's 8th grade boys game that was a first for me.

A1 had a habit of "dribbling" the ball whenever he was going to inbound. As long as he kept the ball hitting OOB, he's fine, and he would always grab the ball and inbound within five seconds. In the third quarter, he was doing it again and B1 reached across and hit the ball during one of the dribbles. As I said, I've never had this happen before.

OK you guys, is it just a DOG warning or is it a technical (the same as if B1 hit the ball while A1 was holding it)? My partner was the calling official and he called it a DOG warning. I didn't challenge it and neither did either of the coaches. Were we right or wrong?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,001
I'm calling a DOG warning in this case.

Rule states it has to be in the player's "possession" to be a T. This is not a dribble, so when the ball is loose, I'm saying he/she doesn't have "possession."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 02:57pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
He may not touch or dislodge the ball while in possession of the thrower. If he is bouncing the ball, he is in possession.

T
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If he is bouncing the ball, he is in possession.
Based on what?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:01pm
Travel, Offside & Strike!
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 111
I'm going with DOG warning ( breaking the plane) in this case, Padgett. Mostly because of the age group involved....
__________________
Reffin' in the Rockies
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:03pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Based on what?
Based on the dictionary definition of "in possession," since there is no rulebook

definition.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Based on what?

Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?

Once A has the ball, they "posess" it until it's released on an inbounds pass.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,054
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?

Once A has the ball, they "posess" it until it's released on an inbounds pass.
What if A1 fumbles the ball on the out of bounds side, then B1 reaches over and touches the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:14pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
What if A1 fumbles the ball on the out of bounds side, then B1 reaches over and touches the ball?
I would still consider him to be in possession.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?
No, because if they bat the ball away, I'm blowing my whistle for a DOG warning, so that's not an issue.

We can argue about the semantics of "possession" in this instance, but either way, I'm not calling a T in Mark's OP.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 03:43pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Common sense. Are you going to allow B1 to bat the ball away so there's a 5-second violation on A?

Once A has the ball, they "possess" it until it's released on an inbounds pass.
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Except he's not holding or dribbling
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Agree. My common sense says to use the same basic concept as player control-"holding or dribbling a live ball".
Except the rules explicitly say that there is no player control on a throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:13pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Except he's not holding or dribbling
Rule 4:
ART. 3 . . . The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it.
ART. 4 . . . The throw-in count ends when the ball is released by the thrower so the passed ball goes directly into the court.
Would it contribute to the discussion to mention that once the ball is put at the disposal of the thrower, it's technically in his possession until he releases the ball to go into the court?
Anything the defense does to make contact with the ball while on the other side of the line between those two points of time would seem to justify a T, it seems.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 27, 2010, 05:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,279
T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
44 years later... Rich Baseball 50 Wed Jun 24, 2009 05:51pm
20 years! Adam Basketball 16 Wed Feb 06, 2008 07:47pm
Been Out 6 Years tzme415 Softball 5 Thu Mar 31, 2005 08:46pm
After all these years - a first! Mark Padgett Basketball 4 Thu Feb 17, 2005 08:35am
18 Years and another First NCAAREF Basketball 19 Mon Dec 20, 2004 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1