![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Am I missing something here? There is no reference to a deflection or anything but a long pass. If the ball never came inbounds, why would the AP arrow be involved? Just correct the clock and re-do the throw in. If the ball hit the flag hanging over the court, or something similar, reset the clock correctly and give the throw in to the other team.
For the coach to insist that his team had the ball makes me think that the ball did reach inbounds status, but catching the ball just as the whistle blows or immediately following would be easy for a coach to mistake as having the ball. I'm thinking there is some missing information here. |
|
|||
|
That's why I wrote what I did. We don't know if the clock started properly or not. There is no description of the game action after the throw-in pass, but before the horn sounded. Without that information we cannot provide a ruling.
|
|
|||
|
I agree, there is a lot missing in what took place based on the article alone.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
I agree that is messed up. Because we clearly know that the media has the entire story as they do so often.
![]() Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Would they have gone to the AP because there is no team control on a throw in and possibly the horn sounded before team control was evident? Yea there is a lot of info missing to actually come up with the correct ruling. Would like to see it on YouTube if possible to come to any actual ruling.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the ball had been tipped, then the horn sounded, then the whistles, before control had been established then an A/P throw-in would be correct. However, putting the full three seconds back on the clock wouldn't then make sense. If the officials could determine with definite knowledge how much time there was between the tip and the whistle that should be taken from 3. If the ball was controlled before the horn and whistle, then that team should have had the throw-in. Same as above on the time. None of that, however, is clear from the story. What's also not clear is if the clock started prematurely, or if the horn sounded prematurely. We could speculate, but it wouldn't do much good. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| apparently for those who don't use ball bags... | Hock9 | Baseball | 34 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:33am |
| Apparently we do not have to | PeteBooth | Baseball | 7 | Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:02am |
| Dayton article- short honeymoon for pros apparently | DIV2ump | Baseball | 35 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:19pm |
| An Oops. | mick | Basketball | 3 | Fri Oct 06, 2000 05:21pm |