![]() |
|
|
|||
Apparently an oops that has been publicized.
I was sent this by my father.
I'd like to ask the officials working the game what they were actually reading, but it doesn't smell quite right. Watertown Daily Times | Disputed finish favors Spartans |
|
|||
On South Jefferson's next possession, A. J. Chartrand, who scored 27 points for the Spartans (9-3 overall, 9-2 league), saw his driving layup spin out of the basket and go out of bounds with three seconds to play.
After a timeout, all Thousand Islands had to do was inbounds the ball successfully, and the game was likely over. But as the ball was thrown toward the mid-court area, the buzzer prematurely sounded with the clock reading 1.5 seconds. The officials, veterans Mike Branski and Phil Goings, immediately blew their whistles to stop play and went to the scorer's table to confer. They determined that since it was an inadvertent whistle, a jump ball was required, which gave possession to South Jefferson. ... Thousand Islands coach Scott LaLonde had three reasonable arguments as to why the referees' decision was the wrong ruling. One, LaLonde said his player, Hanrahan, had possession of the ball when the buzzer and whistle sounded, which should have given the possession to the Vikings. Second, LaLonde wondered why the clock was reset to three seconds. And third, he thought the ball should have been taken out under the basket where it was originally inbounded. The officials said the inadvertent whistle was the only determining factor, and that LaLonde's protests were superseded by the rule book. "I disagree with their interpretation," LaLonde said. "We had the ball on the inbounds pass, so why didn't we have it after the whistle blew?'' ======================================= Not sure if this would be a situation for 4-36-2b or 2c. If the clock started correctly on a deflection, then the throw-in was over, even though the horn sounded prematurely. |
|
|||
Am I missing something here? There is no reference to a deflection or anything but a long pass. If the ball never came inbounds, why would the AP arrow be involved? Just correct the clock and re-do the throw in. If the ball hit the flag hanging over the court, or something similar, reset the clock correctly and give the throw in to the other team.
For the coach to insist that his team had the ball makes me think that the ball did reach inbounds status, but catching the ball just as the whistle blows or immediately following would be easy for a coach to mistake as having the ball. I'm thinking there is some missing information here. |
|
|||
That's why I wrote what I did. We don't know if the clock started properly or not. There is no description of the game action after the throw-in pass, but before the horn sounded. Without that information we cannot provide a ruling.
|
|
|||
I agree, there is a lot missing in what took place based on the article alone.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
apparently for those who don't use ball bags... | Hock9 | Baseball | 34 | Sun Mar 01, 2009 09:33am |
Apparently we do not have to | PeteBooth | Baseball | 7 | Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:02am |
Dayton article- short honeymoon for pros apparently | DIV2ump | Baseball | 35 | Tue Jun 27, 2006 08:19pm |
An Oops. | mick | Basketball | 3 | Fri Oct 06, 2000 05:21pm |