The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 10:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
The way this is written, it's a violation. Do mean player who is about to go out of bounds to in bound tosses ball to referee?
I took it to mean after a made basket.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
O.7 seconds left, Louisville has just scored and SH inbounding. Player in bounding takes one step and puts foot onto court. Then he tosses ball back to Referee Tony Greene who returns a sharp pass back to him and then inbounder passes onto court.

If someone can post a clip it would be helpful.
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 21, 2010, 10:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
O.7 seconds left, Louisville has just scored and SH inbounding. Player in bounding takes one step and puts foot onto court. Then he tosses ball back to Referee Tony Greene who returns a sharp pass back to him and then inbounder passes onto court.

If someone can post a clip it would be helpful.
I think Mr Tony Greene got some 'splainin to do why he didn't hit his whistle for throw-in violation......
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 09:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
I think Mr Tony Greene got some 'splainin to do why he didn't hit his whistle for throw-in violation......
Agree. I was watching it live and saw the replays. Thrower with the ball OOB----> count started---> thrower steps on court.

Should be interesting.......but as usual, I ain't judging anybody until I hear the 'splainin'.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 09:39am
SAJ SAJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 183
I believe the inadvertant whistle caused this whole mess. I'm not penalizing a team for one of our screwups. Reset the play and move on.

It appears obvious the inbounder doesn't know his position on the floor. Looks like he gathers the ball after the shot, hears the whistle, then moves in to find out what the call is. Sees no action by an official and "attempts" to inbounds from his current location (likely because he's still in the same colored floor area). No excuse for his actions, but upon the whistle from the L moves to his correct location.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 208
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAJ View Post
I believe the inadvertant whistle caused this whole mess. I'm not penalizing a team for one of our screwups. Reset the play and move on.

It appears obvious the inbounder doesn't know his position on the floor. Looks like he gathers the ball after the shot, hears the whistle, then moves in to find out what the call is. Sees no action by an official and "attempts" to inbounds from his current location (likely because he's still in the same colored floor area). No excuse for his actions, but upon the whistle from the L moves to his correct location.
The inbounder is Keon Lawrence who was out on $25k bail for driving the wrong way on the Garden State Parkway, so probably baselines etc. are much too difficult for him to comprehend.

Here is part of story from Newark Star Ledger with numerous inaccuracies. Free-throw woes almost cause collapse, but Seton Hall wins 80-77 over Louisville | Seton Hall Sports - - Seton Hall Sports - NJ.com

[FONT="Century Gothic"][SIZE="4"][SIZE="5"]"Pirates guard Keon Lawrence, who earlier yesterday turned himself in to New Jersey State Police and paid bail of $25,000 in Sayreville Borough Municipal Court in regard to a charge of assault-by-auto and driving with a suspended license from November, appeared to step over the baseline before inbounding the ball, before referee Jim Burr pulled him back(Tony Greene not Jim Burr and nobody pulled him back). [/B][/COLOR]Louisville coach Rick Pitino ran out to almost midcourt [B](he ran to baseline abut 5 feet onto court)[/B] arguing for a turnover. Seton Hall claimed it heard a whistle and saw Pitino calling for a timeout.

Confusion ensued with neither side exactly sure of what had happened.

“Keon said he wanted to get it out of bounds as soon as possible so the [B]clock would run down (The clock is going to run down after a field goal?).” Gonzalez said. “They said there was some kind of inadvertent whistle. I think a whistle blew that wasn’t supposed to blow, which kind of hurt us because now we’ve got to get it inbounds again. So I don’t know what happened.” (Well this is true)
__________________
A Double Bonus is not really double.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Nice job on the post Nevada...it explains (I guess) most of what happened in the sitch.
Am I correct in saying that the missing piece of information to all of us following this bizarre play is...why the whistle that occurred somewhere between 1.1 and 0.7?
What are the chances (if any) of any explanation of the play coming from the Big East?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 373
I have watched the Zapruder film on this many times and am convinced that the man with the umbrella standing in section 102 blew the mysterious whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 04:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeBallanfant View Post
O.7 seconds left, Louisville has just scored and SH inbounding. Player in bounding takes one step and puts foot onto court. Then he tosses ball back to Referee Tony Greene who returns a sharp pass back to him and then inbounder passes onto court.

If someone can post a clip it would be helpful.
Certainly not as clear as watching it on ESPN360 but here is what it looked like for those who don't get ESPN360 or have it Tivo-ed

YouTube - Seaton Hall Louisville Inbound Play 2010

or

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8SmA4ejZjrg

Last edited by Clark Kent; Fri Jan 22, 2010 at 05:39am.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 04:42am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Is it just me, or did it sound like a whistle was blown after the made basket? You can see all the players stop play as if one was blown. That's the only way I can see why the violation wasn't called.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
Is it just me, or did it sound like a whistle was blown after the made basket? You can see all the players stop play as if one was blown. That's the only way I can see why the violation wasn't called.
That's what it looked/sounded like to me. Strange.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
It appears as if Tony Greene gets to two on his five second inbound count.....but there is no doubt the players stopped. Gray 10 is the only one that moves.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Is there anything in NCAA rules/casebook or mechanics that could possibly make what we all saw not a violation?
NCAA guys......your thoughts.
Man, that was strange.....
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Is there anything in NCAA rules/casebook or mechanics that could possibly make what we all saw not a violation?
NCAA guys......your thoughts.
Man, that was strange.....
Not an NCAA guy, but the only thing I can figure is that, while none of the officials seemed to have blown the whistle, Greene figured out that everyone stopped and the confusion caused the issue.

Very strange play.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
The ball went through the net around 1.2 or 1.1, but it ran down to .7 before stopping. Perhaps one of the other officials blew to check the clock and see if they should add some time and thus the players stopped. However even then it wouldn't make sense as to why the would have inbounded the ball after the alleged violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huge Gym, Spot inbound play johnyd Basketball 53 Tue Dec 18, 2007 08:10am
Question on inbound play Quahogboy Basketball 15 Mon Dec 11, 2006 07:49am
neat trick on video ChrisSportsFan Basketball 9 Fri Jan 28, 2005 05:31am
neat learning experience ChrisSportsFan Basketball 4 Mon Sep 20, 2004 11:03am
legal inbound play?? MN 3 Sport Ref Basketball 24 Thu Jan 15, 2004 04:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1