The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 10:32pm
Official Forum Member

Illinois Online Evaluations

I'm in my first year with the IHSA, and at my game tonight, we had one varsity official come in to the locker room with us at halftime. We got to talking, and he volunteered to put in evaluations for both my partner and I.

How does this process work?
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 10:39pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
I'm in my first year with the IHSA, and at my game tonight, we had one varsity official come in to the locker room with us at halftime. We got to talking, and he volunteered to put in evaluations for both my partner and I.

Any certified ("C") official can rate any other official one time per season on the girls side and once on the boys side. Coaches also rate you for games that you work of theirs. These ratings are compiled and a formula is applied based on total number of ratings as well as the scores of those ratings, and you then get a composite rating for boys/girls. The ratings go from 1-this official is qualified to work state finals to 5-this official is qualified to work underclass contests only. If you go on the website you can view your composite rating score as well as the formula for computing. It is completely anonymous (at least it better be!)
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:

As a certified official, he can 'rate' you. Basically, the more ratings you pile up, the better your chances for post season games. Coaches also can rate you. It's become somewhat of popularity contest, with officials trading ratings with their peers. If you don't get on the treadmill, you lose.